The England cricket team will host arch-rivals Australia for a five-match Ashes 2023 series, starting from June 16.

The upcoming Ashes series will begin with the first England vs Australia Test to be played at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham.

Led by captain Pat Cummins, the Australian cricket team will head into Ashes 2023 brimming with confidence after winning the World Test Championship (WTC) last week. Australia clinched the second edition of WTC after defeating India by 209 runs in the final at the Kennington Oval in London.

Furthermore, Australia are the current holders of the Ashes, having thrashed England 4-0 in the previous five-match Test series at their home.

The visitors have also received a massive boost as pacer Josh Hazlewood will be fit for the first Ashes Test. Hazlewood missed the WTC 2023 final after he failed to recover from a side strain.

On the other hand, the Ben Stokes-led England will aim to claim the urn back, having not won the Ashes since 2015. Under the leadership of Alastair Cook, England won their last Ashes series 3-2 in the UK.

For the hosts, fast bowlers James Anderson and Ollie Robinson have returned to the England squad after missing the Ireland Test as a precaution. Additionally, star pacer Mark Wood is also available for selection for the opening Ashes Test.

However, the hosts will miss the services of their first-choice spinner Jack Leach due to a stress fracture.

In the absence of Leach, England have added Moeen Ali to their Ashes 2023 squad. The 35-year-old had earlier announced his retirement from Test cricket in 2021 but makes a return to England’s red-ball setup.

Where to watch Ashes 2023 between England and Australia LIVE in India?

The Ashes 2023 series will be telecast live on Sony TEN 5 and Sony TEN 5 HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the Ashes 2023 series will be available on the SonyLIV app and website.

England vs Australia Ashes 2023 schedule and LIVE India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)





June 16-20

England vs Australia, 1st Test

3:30 PM

Edgbaston, Birmingham

June 28 - July 2

England vs Australia, 2nd Test

3:30 PM

Lord’s, London

July 6-10

England vs Australia, 3rd Test

3:30 PM

Headingley, Leeds

July 19-23

England vs Australia, 4th Test

3:30 PM

Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

July 27-31

England vs Australia, 5th Test

3:30 PM

Kennington Oval, London

England vs Australia Ashes 2023 squads

England (For first two Tests): Ben Stokes (captain), Ollie Pope (wicket-keeper), Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow  (wicket-keeper), James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Ben Duckett, Zak Crawley, Ollie Robinson, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Matthew Potts, Mark Wood, Josh Tongue, Dan Lawrence, Chris Woakes

Australia (For first two Tests): Pat Cummins (captain), Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, David Warner, Cameron Green, Mitchell Starc, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Nathan Lyon, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Matt Renshaw, Todd Murphy, Marcus Harris, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis (wicket-keeper)

Photo credit: Alamy