The previously postponed Dhaka Premier League (DPL) will return to action on May 31, as confirmed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

The 2019-20 DPL season was postponed last March after just six matches as the country went into lockdown due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis (CCDM), the body in charge of hosting the tournament, also changed the format of the tournament from 50-overs to T20.

“As decided earlier, it will be a T20 event,” CCDM chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed said. “Considering the busy international schedule and the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup, we believe that T20 is the ideal format...,”

Bangladesh has already organised two tournaments during the pandemic and also hosted West Indies at the start of this year.

“We will draw from these learnings and make plans for the Bangabandhu DPL accordingly

“We know what this league means to the players and clubs and appreciate their support during the planning stage,“ he added.

The league was initially scheduled to resume action on May 6 but with a fresh COVID-19 wave hitting the country, the resumption was delayed by three weeks.

The results of the previous six matches will be annulled and the tournament will have a fresh start. Although teams will have the same squad as last year.

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib-Al-Hasan has expressed his desire to be a part of the league and will most likely represent Mohammedan Sporting Club.

Along with Mohammedan Sporting Club, 11 other teams will be part of the tournament, including reigning champions Abahani Limited, Legends of Rupganj, Old DOHS Sports Club, Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, Partex Sporting Club, Shinepukur Cricket Club, Gazi Group Cricketers, Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity, Prime Bank Cricket Club and Brothers Union.

Featured photo: Unsplash / Kern Ramlochan