The Desert Cup T20I Series 2022, also known as the Oman Desert Quadrangle T20, is all set to get underway from November 14. All the matches of the campaign will be held at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground (Ministry Turf 1) in Muscat, Oman. The 14-match tournament will end on November 21.

The four participating teams in the tournament are Oman, Saudi Arabia, Canada and Bahrain. Oman will face Saudi Arabia in the competition’s curtain raiser.

Each team will play the other sides within the group twice in a double round-robin format.

The top two teams will contest the final on November 21, 2022, whereas the two bottom-placed teams will play the third-place playoff on the same day, just before the final.

Hosts Oman last played competitive cricket in June earlier this year, where they were a part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup League 2 along with United States of America and Nepal. The Oman cricket team won two and lost as many in the tournament.

On the other hand, neighbours Saudi Arabia played in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Asia A qualifiers as their previous assignment. The Saudi Arabia cricket team won two of their four matches and lost two.

The Canadian cricket team participated in Cricket World Cup Challenge League 2019-2022/23 in August earlier this year. The Saad Bin Zafar-led side is currently at the top of Group A in that competition with nine wins in 10 games.

As far as the Bahrain cricket team are concerned, they toured Kuwait for five T20Is in August 2022. The team lost four games on the trot following a super over win in the first T20I.

Desert Cup T20I Series 2022 teams and full squads

Oman: Zeeshan Maqsood (captain), Fayyaz Butt, Sandeep Goud, Kaleemullah, Ayaan Khan, Bilal Khan, Shoaib Khan, Naseem Khushi (wicket-keeper), Rafiullah, Sufyan Mehmood, Mohammad Nadeem, Kashyap Prajapati, Samay Shrivastava, Jatinder Singh

Canada: Saad Bin Zafar (captain), Navneet Dhaliwal, Nikhil Dutta, Dillon Heyliger, Aaron Johnson, Armaan Kapoor, Ammar Khalid, Nicholas Kirton, Akhil Kumar, Shreyas Movva (wicket-keeper), Salman Nazar, Pargat Singh, Kaleem Sana, Ravinderpal Singh, Matthew Spoors, Harsh Thaker, Srimantha Wijeratne

Bahrain: Sarfaraz Ali (captain), Sohail Ahmed, Imran Anwar, Sikander Billah, Haider Butt, Danish Jasnaik, Imran Khan, Sachin Kumar, Shahid Mahmood, Abdul Majid, David Mathias, Ahmed Nasir, Muhammad Rizwan, Umer Toor (wicket-keeper), Sathaiya Veerapathiran

Saudi Arabia: Abdul Waheed Abdul Ghaffar (captain), Irshad Mubbashar, Khadim Hussain, Usman Najeeb, Zain-ul-Abidin, Abdul Wahid, Atif-Ur-Rehman, Imran Arif, Imran Yousaf, Mohammed Hisham Shaikh, Muhammad Saqib, Saad Khan, Faisal Khan (wicket-keeper), Haseeb Ghafoor, Ishtiaq Ahmad, Irfan Sarfaraz, Nawazish Akhtar 

Where to watch Desert Cup T20I Series 2022 live in India?

Live streaming of the Desert Cup T20I Series 2022 will be available on the FanCode app and website.

There will be no telecast of the Desert Cup T20I Series 2022 in India. 

Desert Cup T20I Series 2022 schedule and match times

All timings are in Indian Standard Time (IST).

Day and Date Match Time
Monday, November 14 Oman vs Saudi Arabia 5:30 PM
Monday, November 14 Canada vs Bahrain 9:30 PM
Tuesday, November 15 Canada vs Saudi Arabia 5:30 PM
Tuesday, November 15 Oman vs Bahrain 9:30 PM
Wednesday, November 16 Bahrain vs Saudi Arabia 5:30 PM
Wednesday, November 16 Oman vs Canada 9:30 PM
Thursday, November 17 Oman vs Saudi Arabia 5:30 PM
Thursday, November 17 Bahrain vs Canada 9:30 PM
Saturday, November 19 Canada vs Saudi Arabia 5:30 PM
Saturday, November 19 Oman vs Bahrain 9:30 PM
Sunday, November 20 Oman vs Canada 5:30 PM
Sunday, November 20 Bahrain vs Saudi Arabia 9:30 PM
Monday, November 21 3rd Place play-off - TBC vs TBC 5:30 PM
Monday, November 21 Final - TBC vs TBC 9:30 PM


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: AFP