Defending champions Chepauk Super Gillies (CSG) will square off against Nellai Royal Kings (NRK) in the opening match of Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2022 at Indian Cement Company Ground in Tirunelveli on Thursday, June 23. 

Led by captain Kaushik Gandhi, Chepauk Super Gillies clinched their third TNPL title last season by defeating Ruby Trichy Warriors by eight runs in the 2021 final.

On the other hand, Nellai Royal Kings finished fifth in the eight-team tournament last term with seven points from as many matches.

CSG vs NRK Dream11 prediction

Chepauk Super Gillies have a dominant head-to-head record against Nellai Royal Kings in the TNPL, winning four of their last five matches. However, the Kings beat the Super Gillies by seven wickets last season. 

Going by past head-to-head record, reigning champions CSG will have an edge over NRK going into Thursday’s encounter.

CSG vs NRK Dream11 team tips for TNPL 2022

Top Tip: Best batter 

Baba Indrajith was one of the standout batters for Nellai Royal Kings in TNPL last season. The 27-year-old scored 123 runs in seven matches at an average of 61.50 and a strike rate of 130.85. Selected by 93.59% fantasy players, Baba Indrajith could be a great fantasy pick for the first match at 9.5 credits.

Top Tip: Best bowler

In the bowling department, Chepauk Super Gillies’ R Sai Kishore will be the bowler to watch out for. The slow left-arm spinner was the second-highest wicket-taker last season, picking 12 wickets in seven matches at an economy of just 5.85. Having recently played for champions Gujarat in the Indian T20 League, Sai Kishore will be a worthy fantasy pick for this match.

Top Tip: Best all-rounder and wicket-keeper

Among the various all-rounders on display, Nellai Royal Kings’ Baba Aparajith will be the overwhelming choice. The 27-year-old scored 181 runs and also bagged nine wickets in seven matches last season. He will look to continue his all-round form against reigning champions Chepauk Super Gillies on Thursday.

Chepauk Super Gillies’ Narayan Jagadeesan will be the preferred choice for the wicket-keeper spot. Apart from fulfilling his wicket-keeping responsibilities, Jagadeesan was the third-highest run-getter in TNPL 2021, amassing 336 runs in 10 matches at a strike rate of 125.37 and an average of 35.33. 

CSG vs NRK full squads

CSG squads: B Arun, S Vijayakumar, Rajagopal Stahish, R Ajith Kumar, RS Jaganath Srinivas, V Santhana Sekar, Manimaran Siddharth, S Sujay, S Harish Kumar, V Arun Kumar, H Prasidh Akash, R Sai Kishore, Narayan Jagadeesan, V Sai Prakash, M Kaushik Gandhi, R Alexander, U Sasidev, Sonu Yadav, D Rahul, Sandeep Warrier, R Nilesh, Subramanian, S Radhakrishnan

NRK squads: H Trilok Nag, CH Jitendra Kumar, Sanjay Yadav, V Athisayaraj Davidson, T Ajith Kumar, M Abhinav, NS Harish, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, S Sharun Kumar, Baba Indrajith, Ashwath Mukunthan, L Suryapprakash, S Senthil Nathan, Arjun P Murthy, M Sarath Kumar, R Rohith Ram, A Sarathraj, T Veeramani, R Sri Neranjan, R Vivek, C Suresh, Baba Aparajith 

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: TNPL