Cricket South Africa has confirmed that the CSA T20 Challenge 2022 will start on February 7 with the final scheduled to be held on February 27. 

The upcoming T20 tournament is replacing the Mzansi Super League and will be held in a managed event environment (MEE).

All the matches of CSA T20 Challenge 2022 will be played at George’s Park in Port Elizabeth due to COVID-19. 

The league will feature eight teams fighting for the coveted title with Imperial Lions looking to defend their crown.

As per the format of the tournament, each side will play seven round-robin matches over 14 days of double-header fixtures, with the top four teams advancing to the semifinals. 

“This is always an exciting time for our domestic cricketers, with the CSA T20 Challenge constantly producing captivating moments for the masses to enjoy," Acting Chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki said.

"Following the cancellation of this year’s MSL, the T20 Challenge comes as a welcomed inclusion in the South African cricketing calendar once again and we look forward to arranging yet another successful event after the recent India tour and last year’s T20 Knock Out Competition."

“This tournament will present another opportunity for our experienced and budding cricketers to showcase their skills in the exciting shorter format and I am certain we will see some exhilarating individual and team performances down in Gqeberha”.

The opening match of CSA T20 Challenge 2022 will witness Western Province lock horns with Rocks on Monday.

CSA T20 Challenge 2022 teams and full squads

Rocks: Pieter Malan (captain), Christiaan Jonker, Janneman Malan, Ruan Terblanche, Ferisco Adams, Imran Manack, Shaun von Berg, Sinalo Gobeni, Clyde Fortuin (wicket-keeper), Hlomla Hanabe (wicket-keeper), Achille Cloete, Hardus Viljoen, Khanya Dilima, Siyabonga Mahima, Zakhele Qwabe, Ziyaad Abrahams

Western Province: Wayne Parnell (captain), David Bedingham, Jonathan Bird, Jordan Woolf, Tony de Zorzi, Zubayr Hamza, Aviwe Mgijima, Kyle Simmonds, Mihlali Mpongwana, Daniel Smith (wicket-keeper), Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), Basheer Walters, Beuran Hendricks, Nandre Burger, Tshepo Moreki, Yves Kamanzi

Titans: Dean Elgar (captain), Donavon Ferreira, Grant Mokoena, Jiveshan Pillay, Sibonelo Makhanya, Corbin Bosch, Dayyaan Galiem, Neil Brand, Theunis de Bruyn, Gihahn Cloete (wicket-keeper), Jan Hendrik Pretorius (wicket-keeper), Aaron Phangiso, Ayabulela Gqamane, Bonga Chepkonga, Jarred Jardine, Junior Dala, Okuhle Cele, Simon Harmer

Warriors: Sinethemba Qeshile (captain/wicket-keeper), Edward Moore, Kabelo Sekhukhune, Lesiba Ngoepe, Matthew Breetzke, Tristan Stubbs, Alindile Mhletywa, Diego Rosier, JJ Smuts, Kyle Jacobs, Wihan Lubbe, Rudi Second (wicket-keeper), Glenton Stuurman, Marco Jansen, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Tiaan van Vuuren, Tsepo Ndwandwa

Lions: Ryan Rickelton (captain/wicket-keeper), Dominic Hendricks, Joshua Richards, Mitchell van Buuren, Shane Dadswell, Codi Yusuf, Kagiso Rapulana, Louren Steenkamp, Sisanda Magala, Ruan Haasbroek (wicket-keeper), Ayavuya Myoli, Carmi le Roux, Lutho Sipamla, Malusi Siboto, Tladi Bokako, Tshepo Ntuli

North West: Nicky van den Bergh (captain/wicket-keeper),Christopher Britz, Lesego Senokwane, Taheer Isaacs, Wesley Marshall, Heinrich Pieterse, Senuran Muthusamy, Shaylen Pillay, Eben Botha (wicket-keeper), Jason Oakes (wicket-keeper), Caleb Seleka, Chad Classen, Duan Jansen, Eldred Hawken, Johannes Diseko, Lwandiswa Zuma

Knights: Pite van Biljon (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Raynard van Tonder, Rilee Rossouw, Jacques Snyman, Matthew Kleinveldt, Migael Pretorius, Patrick Botha, Patrick Kruger, Dilivio Ridgaard (wicket-keeper), Mangaliso Mosehle (wicket-keeper), Wandile Makwetu (wicket-keeper), Alfred Mothoa, Gerald Coetzee, Gregory Mahlokwana, Mbulelo Budaza, Nealan van Heerden

Dolphins: Marques Ackerman (captain), Bradley Porteous, Keegan Petersen, Sarel Erwee, Thamsanga Kumalo, Bryce Parsons, Jason Smith, Khaya Zondo, Prenelan Subrayen, Grant Roelofsen (wicket-keeper), Ruan de Swardt (wicket-keeper), Daryn Dupavillon, Kerwin Mungroo, Odirile Modimokoane, Ottniel Baartman, Thando Ntini

CSA T20 Challenge 2022 schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All timings are in Indian Standard Time (IST)

Monday, February 7

Western Province vs Rocks - 1:30 PM

Titans vs Warriors, 2nd Match - 6:00 PM

Tuesday, February 8

Lions vs North West - 1:30 PM

Knights vs Dolphins - 6:00 PM

Wednesday, February 9 

Rocks vs Titans - 1:30 PM

Western Province vs Warriors - 6:00 PM

Thursday, February 10

North West vs Knights - 1:30 PM

Dolphins vs Lions - 6:00 PM

Saturday, February 12 

Warriors vs Dolphins - 1:30 PM

Knights vs Titans - 6:00 PM

Sunday, February 13

Lions vs Western Province - 1:30 PM

Rocks vs North West - 6:00 PM

Monday, February 14

Titans vs Dolphins - 1:30 PM

Knights vs Warriors - 6:00 PM

Tuesday, 15 February

Rocks vs Lions - 1:30 PM

North West vs Western Province - 6:00 PM

Thursday, February 17

Titans vs Lions - 1:30 PM

Warriors vs Rocks - 6:00 PM

Friday, 18 February

Knights vs Western Province - 1:30 PM

Dolphins vs North West - 6:00 PM

Saturday, 19 February

Western Province vs Titans - 1:30 PM

Warriors vs Lions - 6:00 PM

Sunday, February 20

Dolphins vs Rocks - 1:30 PM

Lions vs Knights - 6:00 PM

Tuesday, February 22

North West vs Titans - 1:30 PM

Rocks vs Knights - 6:00 PM

Wednesday, February 23 

Western Province vs Dolphins - 1:30 PM

Warriors vs North West - 6:00 PM

Friday, February 25

TBC vs TBC - 1:30 PM

TBC vs TBC - 6:00 PM

Sunday, 27 February

CSA T20 Challenge 2022 final - 4:30 PM

Where to watch CSA T20 Challenge 2022 live in India?

CSA T20 Challenge 2022 will be telecast live on Star Sports Network TV channels India.

Live streaming of CSA T20 Challenge 2022 will be available on Disney+ Hotstar app and website. 

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Marty MELVILLE / AFP