The five-month-long CSA 4-Day Franchise Series 2020-21 has finally got its two finalists, with Dolphins and Titans scheduled to lock horns for the ultimate prize on 25-29 March at the St George’s Park Cricket Ground in Port Elizabeth.

CSA 4-Day Franchise Series is South Africa’s first-class cricket competition. Six teams were a part of the tournament in the latest edition and were split into two pools of three each.

All teams played seven matches each and the teams finishing at the top of their respective pools - Dolphins and Titans - qualified for the final.

The Dolphins won four and lost one of their seven league stage matches. While their biggest victory was a nine-wicket win, the Dolphins’ heaviest defeat came against Knights where they were beaten by 227 runs.

The Titans, meanwhile, won only two of their seven games but lost just one which was enough for them to qualify for the final.

Like many others, the 4-Day Franchise Series too was affected by the ongoing pandemic. Several players had to withdraw from the competition after testing positive and the round 5 game between Titans and Dolphins was called off after one player contracted the virus on the second day of the match. As a result of the continued rise in cases, round 6 was postponed from December 2020 to March 2021.

Earlier this month, Cricket South Africa also confirmed that this would be the final season of the 4-Day Franchise Series as they look to expand their domestic circuit across two tiers.

CSA 4-Day Franchise Series leaderboard

Most Runs

Aiden Markram (Titans): 945 runs

Raynard van Tonder (Knights): 721 runs

Kyle Verreynne (Cape Cobras): 680 runs

Pieter Malan (Cape Cobras): 638 runs

Ryan Rickelton (Lions): 627 Runs

Most wickets

Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins): 34 wickets

Shaun von Berg (Knights): 29 wickets

Lizzad Williams (Titans): 27 wickets

Migael Pretorius (Knights): 24 wickets

George Linde (Cape Cobras): 23 wickets 

Dolphins vs Titans full squads

Dolphins squad: Marques Ackerman (captain), Sarel Erwee, Grant Roelofsen (wicket-keeper), Keegan Petersen, Khaya Zondo, Senuran Muthusamy, Andile Phehlukwayo, Ruan de Swardt, Keshav Maharaj, Ottniel Baartman, Lifa Ntanzi, Robbie Frylinck, Prenelan Subrayen, Eathan Bosch, Daryn Dupavillon

Titans squad: Grant Thomson (captain), Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Henry Davids, Theunis de Bruyn, Neil Brand, Heinrich Klaasen (wicket-keeper), Khwezi Gumede, Gregory Mahlokwana, Thando Ntini, Tabraiz Shamsi, Okuhle Cele, Sibonelo Makhanya, Junior Dala, Ryan Cartwright, Dayyan Galiem, Rubin Hermann, Matthew Arnold, Lizaad Williams, Diego Rosier, Kabelo Sekhukhune

The CSA 4-Day Franchise Series final between Dolphins and Titans will start at 1:30 PM IST, but the game will not be broadcast in India. 

You can, however, tune into SportsAdaa for Dolphins vs Titans live score.

Feature image courtesy: Twitter / @DolphinsCricket