Cricket West Indies (CWI), on Monday, announced that the Caribbean Premier League 2022 (CPL) and the inaugural Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) will run from August 30 to September 30, 2022.

The WCPL will feature three teams - Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders.

The Women’s Caribbean Premier League is the latest T20 tournament for women cricketers, after the Women's Big Bash League (Australia), the Women's 100-ball league (England) and the Women's Super Smash (New Zealand).

"Increasing the opportunities for West Indian women and girls to get involved in cricket is one of CWI's strategic priorities, and we are delighted that we have been able to partner with CPL to further the expansion plans that we had first unveiled in 2019 prior to the arrival of the Covid Pandemic," said Ricky Skerritt, Cricket West Indies president. 

"We are confident that all CPL women's games will be highly competitive and will add quality entertainment to our fans in the region and around the world," he added.

Pete Russell, CEO of the Caribbean Premier League, welcomed the announcement of a women’s T20 league.

"The addition of a women's event to the CPL is something that has been an ambition for a long time and we are very pleased that it has become a reality," Russell said.

"We would like to thank CWI for working with us to make this happen. The Women's T10 Challenge which took place during the 2019 CPL was a huge success and we are looking forward to the next step forward,” he added.

The format and venues for the WCPL 2022 have not been announced yet.

The men’s Caribbean Premier League 2022, meanwhile, will be played across four countries, which have not been disclosed yet. While the league stages will be played across three countries, the final stages will be held in a different country.

Featured photo: Website / Caribbean Premier League