The Caribbean Premier League T20 2021 will start on August 28 and is scheduled to take place in the twin islands of St Kitts & Nevis in its entirety.

According to the organisers, all 33 matches will be played at Warner Park in St Kitts & Nevis.

The last edition of the T20 extravaganza was conducted in a bio-secure bubble in Trinidad and Tobago. The CPL T20 operations team will again be working closely with the tournament’s medical advisors, local agencies and St Kitts & Nevis’ government to ensure the health and safety of all those involved in the tournament.

St Kitts & Nevis has not seen any COVID-19 transmission and is said to be one of the safest places in the Caribbean.

“Warner Park has been the scene of some of the most iconic matches in CPL history and the high-scoring ground will be an ideal venue for the tournament, and fans can expect explosive cricket,” the CPL organisers said.

“From Chris Gayle’s brilliant hundred against the Jamaica Tallawahs in 2019 to Andre Russell’s explosive century against the Trinbago Knight Riders in 2016, Warner Park has had some classic individual performances. There have also been some amazing matches, not least the game that went to a super-over finish between the St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots and the Knight Riders in 2019.”

Meanwhile, the CPL T20 2021 will allow fans to attend at up to 50 per cent capacity of the venue - as long as they show proof of vaccination to enter the stadium facility. 

This year's tournament holds extra significance as it is taking place less than 45 days before the ICC T20 World Cup in India. West Indian and overseas players will look to use this opportunity to push for the selection of their national squads. 

CPL COO Pete Russell said on Tuesday that, "As was demonstrated during the 2020 tournament, the CPL is a massive boost for the host country with USD 51.5 million delivered in sponsorship value for Trinidad & Tobago. We are looking forward to giving St. Kitts & Nevis the exposure they deserve." 

Trinbago Knight Riders are the current CPL T20 champions as they had defeated St Lucia Zouks in the final to lift the trophy for the fourth time. The other teams in the competition are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots and Jamaica Tallawahs.

Featured photo: Twitter/ZimbabweCricket