Australia’s Big Bash League 2023-24 season will start on December 7, 2023, with Brisbane Heat facing Melbourne Stars in the opening BBL 2023-24 fixture.

Last season’s finalist Brisbane Heat will host three-time runners-up Melbourne Stars at The Gabba in the curtain-raiser of the marquee Australian T20 League.

Organised by Cricket Australia, the 13th edition of the BBL will be played in a new format as the number of matches have been reduced from 61 to 44 to shorten the window.

Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder are the eight franchises that will compete for the coveted BBL title.

As per the new BBL format, a total of 40 league matches have been scheduled with each team playing 10 matches. The top four teams in the standings after all league matches will qualify for the BBL 2023-24 playoffs. The playoffs format has been restructured with a four-game finals series as compared to the five matches played in previous seasons.

The new BBL playoffs format comprises the Qualifier, the Knockout, the Challenger and the Final. 

The top two teams in the standings after all league matches will compete in the Qualifier to secure their place in the BBL final.

Meanwhile, the third-placed and the fourth-placed team will lock horns in the Knockout. 

The winner of the Knockout will face the loser of the Qualifier in the Challenger to book their place in the BBL summit clash.

The Big Bash League 2023-24 final will be played on January 24, 2024.

Meanwhile, the upcoming BBL season will take a short break for Australia cricket team’s opening Test against Pakistan in Perth from December 14-18. The BBL 2023-24 action will resume from December 19 onwards.

As per the BBL 2023-24 schedule, Boxing Day and the New Year’s Day will host double headers. 

Sydney Sixers will host Melbourne Stars at Sydney Cricket Ground on Boxing Day, while defending champions Perth Scorchers will face Melbourne Renegades on the same day.

On New Year’s Day, Hobart Hurricanes will square off against Sydney Thunder, while Brisbane Heat will host Sydney Sixers at The Gabba.

Perth Scorchers defeated Brisbane Heat by five wickets in last season’s BBL final to clinch an unprecedented fifth title.

Photo credit: Alamy