The Bengal Pro T20 League 2024 will start on June 11 and conclude on June 28.

Organised by the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), the inaugural Bengal Pro T20 League will see eight franchise teams compete in both the men's and women's category over an 18-day window.

Ahead of the T20 competition, all the eight franchise owners of the league were formally announced and their team names and catchment areas were also revealed during the unveiling of the Champions Trophy of the Bengal Pro T20 League on Friday, May 3. The following are the eight teams along with the men and women marquee players for the inaugural season.

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024 teams and marquee players list

  • Lux Industries & Shyam Steel Consortium: Kolkata Royal Tigers - Abishek Porel and Mita Paul
  • GD Mining: Harbour Diamonds - Manoj Tiwary and Sukanya Parida
  • Rashmi Group: Rashmi Medinipur Wizards - Abhimanyu Easwaran and Richa Ghosh
  • ServoTec Power Systems: Servotec Siliguri Strikers - Akash Deep and Priyanka Bala
  • Shrachi Group: Rarh Tigers - Shahbaz Ahmed and Titas Sadhu
  • Adamas University: Adamas Howrah Warriors - Anustup Majumdar and Dhara Gujjar
  • Sobisco Ltd: Malda Sobisco Smashers - Mukesh Kumar and Hrishita Basu
  • Pritam Electricals & Jalan Builders Consortium: Murshidabad Kings - Sudip Kumar Gharami and Deepti Sharma

The upcoming T20 League will see a total of 62 matches (31 men’s and 31 women’s) played in a league-and-knockout format.

As many as 264 cricketers will participate in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024. As per the criteria, every men’s teams will comprise 17 players while women’s teams will have 16 players each, and most of the players and coaches have to be from Bengal.

All men's matches in the inaugural Bengal Pro T20 League will be played at the Eden Gardens, and all the women's games will be held at the Jadavpur University ground, which is also a regular venue for senior domestic games.

CAB have announced that the men’s games will be telecast live on one of the top sports channels while the women’s matches will be live-streamed on an OTT platform.

A few of the state associations have previously hosted their own men’s T20 tournaments. The Tamil Nadu Premier League, the Maharaja Trophy by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) and the Uttar Pradesh T20 League are some of the well known T20 Leagues held in the country.

Photo credit: Alamy