The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) plans to kickstart its 2023-24 domestic season with the Duleep Trophy from June 28.

As per a tentative schedule readied by the BCCI, the Duleep Trophy is likely to be held from June 28 to July 16 with West Zone hoping for a successful defence of their title.

After a hiatus for three seasons due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the BCCI also plans to restart the Deodhar Trophy (List A) - a traditional 50-over knockout tournament between three teams where all the sides play each other in a round-robin format before the top two teams compete in the final.

The upcoming Deodhar Trophy will reportedly take place from July 24 to August 3 and be in a zonal format.

The Deodhar trophy will be followed by the Irani Cup, which is likely to take place from October 1 to 5 with current Ranji Trophy winners Saurashtra facing the Rest of India, who won the previous edition of the tournament.

The next tournament on the BCCI domestic schedule after the Irani Cup will be the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy. The 20-over domestic tournament is expected to be held from October 16 to November 6 and Tamil Nadu is the reigning champions of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Meanwhile, the Vijay Hazare Trophy - a 50-over limited-overs tournament - will be staged from  November 23 to December 15 with Saurashtra looking to successfully defend their title.

Lastly, the BCCI’s flagship tournament, the Ranji Trophy, will be held next year. Ranji Trophy 2023-24 will start on January 5 and continue till March 14.

As far as the women’s domestic tournaments are concerned, their season begins with the Senior Women's T20 Trophy from October 19 to November 9. The Senior Women's Inter Zonal Trophy is the next domestic tournament and it will be held from November 24 to December 4.

The Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy is slated to be held next year between January 4 and 16. 

BCCI Domestic Schedule 2023-24

Dates Tournament
June 28-July 16, 2023 Duleep Trophy
July 24-August 3, 2023 Deodhar Trophy
October 1-5, 2023 Irani Trophy
October 16-Novermber 6, 2023 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
October 19-31, 2023 Senior Women's T20 Trophy
November 23-December 15, 2023 Vijay Hazare Trophy
November 24 to December 4 Senior Women's Inter Zonal Trophy
January 4-16, 2023 Senior Women's One-Day Tournament
January 5-March 14, 2023 Ranji Trophy

Photo Credit: Alamy