The Bangladesh national cricket team will host Sri Lanka in a three-match T20 international series starting on Monday, March 4.

The upcoming Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka T20Is is part of a multi-format series which also includes three ODIs and two Tests.

All three matches of the T20I series will be played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on March 4, 6 and 9.

Ranked ninth in the ICC men’s T20I team rankings, Bangladesh will be led by Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Meanwhile, regular captain Shakib Al Hasan has been ruled out of the T20I and ODI series due to an eye problem.

Opening batter Mohammad Naim and veteran all-rounder Mohammad Mahmudullah have returned to the T20I squad after their impressive performances in the recently-concluded Bangladesh Premier League.

Off-spinner Aliss Islam has been ruled out of the upcoming T20I series due to a finger injury.

Bangladesh last featured in a T20I series against New Zealand with the three-match series ending 1-1 in December.

On the other hand, the Sri Lanka national cricket team has also announced their 17-member T20I squad.

Sri Lanka’s T20I captain Wanindu Hasaranga has been added in the squad despite his two-match suspension. Hasaranga received the penalty after he verbally abused an umpire during a T20 match against Afghanistan.

In the absence of Hasaranga, vice-captain Charith Asalanka will lead the side in the opening two matches.

Furthermore, the visitors will miss the services of key players Pathum Nissanka, Dushmantha Chameera and Kusal Perera due to injuries.

Currently ranked eighth in the ICC men’s T20I team rankings, Sri Lanka will head into the series high on confidence after beating Afghanistan 2-1 in a three-match T20I series at home.

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka head-to-head in T20 cricket

Sri Lanka hold a superior head-to-head record against Bangladesh in T20 cricket, winning nine of the 13 matches that they have played so far. Bangladesh have registered four victories so far.

The last time these two sides met in the shortest format, Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by two wickets in a Men’s T20 Asia Cup 2022 clash in Dubai.

Where to watch Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka T20 2024 series live in India

Live streaming of the Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka T20 2024 series will be available on the FanCode app and website in India.

There will be no live telecast of the BAN vs SL T20Is on any TV channel in India.

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka T20 2024 schedule and live match start times

All match times are in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date



Time (IST)

Monday, March 4

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 1st T20I

Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

5:30 PM

Wednesday, March 6

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I

Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

5:30 PM

Saturday, March 9

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I

Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

2:30 PM

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka T20 2024 squads

Bangladesh T20 squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (captain), Liton Das (wicketkeeper), Anamul Haque (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Naim, Towhid Hridoy, Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah, Taijul Islam, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan

Sri Lanka T20 squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (captain), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Kusal Mendis (wicketkeeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama (wicketkeeper), Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper)

Photo credit: Alamy