The Bangladesh national cricket team will lock horns with New Zealand in a two-match Test series starting on Tuesday, November 28.

Hosts Bangladesh and New Zealand will begin their World Test Championship 2023-25 campaign with the upcoming Test series. 

As per the Bangladesh vs New Zealand Tests 2023 schedule, the first match will be played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet from November 28, while the second Test will be hosted at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka from December 6.

The two sides previously clashed in a three-match one-day international series before the recently-concluded ICC World Cup 2023.

While the first ODI was abandoned due to rain, New Zealand won the next two ODIs by 86 runs and seven wickets, respectively, to clinch the series 2-0.

Bangladesh have announced their 15-member Test squad to be led by Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Shanto has been named Bangladesh Test captain after Litton Das, who was captain for the only Test against Afghanistan in Dhaka in June, was granted paternity leave for a month. 

The hosts will miss the services of their star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan due to a finger injury.

Top-order batter Shahadat Hossain Dipu, left-arm spinner Hasan Murad and young fast bowler Hasan Mahmud are the three uncapped players added in Bangladesh Test squad.

On the other hand, pacer Tim Southee will lead the New Zealand national cricket team in the upcoming two-match Test series.

The likes of Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra and Mitchell Santner will also feature in the Test series after helping the Kiwis reach the ICC World Cup 2023 semi-finals.

Bangladesh vs New Zealand Test head-to-head

New Zealand have a dominant head-to-head record against Bangladesh in Test cricket, winning 13 of the 17 matches played between these two teams. Bangladesh have registered just a solitary victory while three matches have ended in draws.

The last time these two sides met, a two-match Test series ended in a 1-1 draw in New Zealand in 2022.

Where to watch Bangladesh vs New Zealand Tests 2023 live in India?

Live streaming of the Bangladesh vs New Zealand Tests 2023 will be available on the FanCode app and website in India. It will also be live streamed on Rabbitholebd Sports’ Youtube channel.

There will be no live telecast of the BAN vs NZ Tests 2023 on any TV channel in India.

Bangladesh vs New Zealand Tests 2023 schedule and live match start times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date




Tuesday, November 28 - Saturday, December 2

Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 1st Test

Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

9:00 AM IST

Wednesday, December 6 - Sunday, December 10

Bangladesh vs New Zealand, 2nd Test

Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka

9:00 AM IST

Bangladesh vs New Zealand Tests 2023 squads

Bangladesh Test squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (captain), Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Zakir Hasan (wicket-keeper), Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque Showrab, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan (wicket-keeper), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Naeem Hasan, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Hasan Morad

New Zealand Test squad: Tim Southee (captain), Kane Williamson, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Devon Conway (wicket-keeper), Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Will Young

Photo credit: Alamy