The Bangladesh cricket team will square off against hosts United Arab Emirates (UAE) in a two-match T20 series starting on Sunday, September 25.

The Bangladesh tour of UAE 2022 will help both sides prepare themselves for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh will miss the services of their regular captain Shakib Al Hasan due to his participation in the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL) for Guyana Amazon Warriors. In Shakib’s absence, wicket-keeper batter Nurul Hasan will lead the side. Nurul Hasan also returns to the 17-man T20 squad after recovering from a finger injury which ruled him out of the recently-concluded Zimbabwe series as well as the Asia Cup held in UAE.

The visitors have also included three of the four reserve players who are added to Bangladesh’s T20 World Cup squad as standbys.

Swashbuckling opening batter Soumya Sarkar has also been recalled after last playing a T20I for Bangladesh in November 2021. Furthermore, leg-spinner Rishad Hossain has been added to Bangladesh’s senior team for the first time. Left-arm fast bowler Shoriful Islam has also been added to the squad.

On the other hand, the Chundangapoyil Rizwan-led UAE cricket team has also announced their 18-member squad for the forthcoming series. Wicket-keeper batter Vriitya Aravind will be deputy to Chundangapoyil Rizwan.

UAE have dropped former captain Rohan Mustafa for the Bangladesh series as well as the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Interestingly, Rohan Mustafa is their most capped player across formats.

The two T20Is of the Bangladesh tour of UAE 2022 will be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh vs UAE T20 head-to-head

UAE and Bangladesh have faced each other only once previously in the T20 format so far. Bangladesh secured a 51-run victory over UAE during a 2016 T20 World Cup group encounter in Mirpur.

Bangladesh tour of UAE 2022 squads

UAE: Chundangapoyil Rizwan (captain), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Waseem, Basil Hameed, Alishan Sharafu, Aayan Afzal Khan, Fahad Nawaz, Aryan Lakra, Kashif Daud, Ahmed Raza, Vriitya Aravind (vice-captain/wicket-keeper), Zawar Farid, Karthik Meiyappan, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Sultan Ahmed, Sanchit Sharma

Bangladesh: Nurul Hasan (captain/wicket-keeper), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Litton Das (wicket-keeper), Yasir Ali, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Rishad Hossain

Bangladesh tour of UAE 2022 schedule and live match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)

Day and Date


Time (IST)


Sunday, September 25

United Arab Emirates vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I

7:30 PM IST

Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Tuesday, September 27

United Arab Emirates vs Bangladesh, 2nd T20I

7:30 PM IST

Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

Where to watch Bangladesh tour of UAE 2022 live in India?  

Live streaming of the Bangladesh tour of UAE 2022 will be available on the MX Player app and website.

There will be no live telecast of UAE vs Bangladesh T20Is on any TV channel in India.

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: MUNIR UZ ZAMAN / AFP