Bangladesh selectors want to try some new faces keeping in mind the upcoming T20I World Cup in 2020.

Article Detail

Bangladesh dropped off-spinner Mehidy Hasan and pace bowler Rubel Hossain in a new-look T20I squad named Tuesday for the first two matches of the tri-nations series against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe.  

All-rounder Ariful Haque, pace bowler Abu Hider, spinner Nazmul Islam and batsman Mohammad Mithun were also left out from Bangladesh's last T20I squad that played the West Indies in December 2018. 

Opening batter Tamim Iqbal was not included after asking for a break from international cricket.

"We want to see some players for the next T20I World Cup. This is why we changed the squad," said chief selector Minhajul Abedin.

Young pace bowler Yeasin Arafat and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam received their first T20I call-ups while Afif Hossain and Mahedi Hasan return after playing just one T20I against Sri Lanka in 2018. 

Batsmen Sabbir Rahman and Mosaddek Hossain also received a call-up as Bangladesh prepare to begin the series against Zimbabwe in Dhaka's Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Thursday.

Bangladesh squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman and Yeasin Arafat.