The Indian women’s cricket team will hope to avoid an eighth successive ODI series defeat to Australia women when the teams square off for the second ODI at Harrup Park in Mackay on Friday, September 24.

The Australian women’s cricket team romped to a nine-wicket victory over the visitors thanks to half-centuries from skipper Meg Lanning, Rachael Haynes and Alyssa Healy, and 18-year-old Darcie Brown’s four-wicket haul in just her second WODI. The win extended Australia women’s unbeaten run in women’s ODIs to 25 matches.

On the other hand, Mithali Raj-led India didn’t put up much of a challenge as they failed to defend their total of 225, with Australia reaching the target with nine overs to spare. Mithali was the only batter to register a 50-plus score for the Women in Blue as openers Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma were dismissed cheaply.

India will look to bounce back from the disheartening loss in order to level the three-match series and make it all to play for in the final ODI. 

Australia women vs India women ODI squads

Australia women’s ODI squad: Meg Lanning (captain), Rachael Haynes (vice-captain), Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wicket-keeper), Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney (wicket-keeper), Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

India women’s ODI squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Yastika Bhatia, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Ekta Bisht

Where to watch Australia women vs India women second ODI live in India?  

The Australia women vs India women 2nd ODI will be telecast live from 10:40 AM on the Sony Six and Sony Six HD TV channels in India. 

Live streaming of the Australia women vs India women ODI series will be available on SonyLIV and JioTV.

Featured photo: AFP / William West