The Indian women’s cricket team will  take on Australia women in the first T20I of a three-match series at the Carrara Oval in Queensland on Thursday, October 7.  

Australia are the current leaders in the ICC Women’s T20I rankings while India are ranked third. 

Hosts Australia started off the multi-format series on a high by winning the first two ODIs and clinching the series before having their 26-match streak halted by a spirited Indian side in the final ODI. The action later shifted to the one-off Pink Ball Test, which ended in a draw.

Ahead of the T20I series, 22-year old quick Tayla Vlaeminck who is considered one of the fastest pacers in the women’s game comes back into the side for the hosts after missing out in the ODIs and Test due to injury.

For India, the likes of Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma and Jemimah Rodrigues will be eager to unleash their attacking instincts in cricket’s shortest format. 

Smriti Mandhana, in particular, will be confident after her quality century in the one-off Test. Harmanpreet Kaur, who missed the Test due to injury, is expected to captain the Indian team.

India’s most recent T20I assignment was against England in July 2021 and they lost the three-match series 2-1. Australia lead the multi-format series 6-4 on points and will be looking to keep their lead intact after the T20I series, which carries two points for each match.

Australia women vs India women T20I squads

Australia women’s T20I squad: Meg Lanning (captain), Rachael Haynes (vice-captain), Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy (wicket-keeper), Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney (wicket-keeper), Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

India women’s T20I squad: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Arunhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Renuka Singh

Where to watch Australia women vs India women first T20I live in India?  

The Australia women vs India women 1st T20I will be telecast live from 02:10 PM on the Sony Six and Sony Six HD TV channels in India. 

Live streaming of the Australia women vs India women T20I series will be available on SonyLIV app and website.

Featured photo : William West / AFP