The historic three-match Test series between Pakistan and Australia, termed as the Benaud-Qadir Trophy, is set to commence on Thursday, March 4 at Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi. The upcoming Test series between these two cricketing giants is historic because it is the first time in 24 years that the Aussies are touring Pakistan.

The last time they played in Pakistan was in 1998 when they won the Test series 1-0 while also winning all the matches of the limited-overs series.

The Test matches for Australia’s tour of Pakistan in 2022 will be played across three different venues, with National Stadium in Karachi and Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore playing host to the second and third Test respectively.

Meanwhile, the visitors have named a strong squad for the Tests with Pat Cummins, David Warner and Josh Hazlewood all travelling with the team. The only notable absence is that of Jhye Richardson. The pacer’s omission paved the way for Ashton Agar.

As for Pakistan, the team has been dealing with several injury issues of late. After Haris Rauf was ruled out of the first Test due to COVID-19, Naseem Shah, too, has been forced to pull out due to an injury. Apart from the aforementioned duo, the likes of Hassan Ali and Faheem Ashraf are also set to miss the first Test.

Pakistan vs Australia head-to-head in Test

Over the years, Australia and Pakistan have played a total of 66 Tests with Australia winning 33 and Pakistan 15. As many as 18 Tests have been drawn. Interestingly, despite enjoying a better overall record, Australia have won just two of their eight Test series in Pakistan.

Pakistan vs Australia Test 2022 squads

Pakistan Test squad: Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Imam-ul-Haq, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood, Faheem Ashraf, Nauman Ali, Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Sajid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Zahid Mahmood

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Pakistan vs Australia Test 2022 schedule and live India match times

Dates Match Venue Time (IST)
4-8 March Pakistan vs Australia, 1st Test Pindi Cricket Stadium 10:30 AM
12-16 March Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test National Stadium 10:30 AM
21-25 March Pakistan vs Australia, 3rd Test Gaddafi Stadium 10:30 AM

Where to watch Pakistan vs Australia 2022 Test series live in India?

Live telecast of Pakistan vs Australia Test series will be available on the Sony Six and Sony Six HD TV channels in India.

Live streaming of the Pakistan vs Australia Test series can be viewed on the SonyLIV app and website.

SportsAdda will bring you the live scores of Pakistan vs Australia Test series.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: AFP / Aamir Qureshi