As many as six Indians have been named in the 15-member squad of the Asia XI which is all set to lock horns with World XI for two T20Is in Dhaka in March this year to commemorate Bangladesh’s founding father Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s 100th anniversary.

Announcing the squad on Tuesday, Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hassan confirmed Faf du Plessis will captain the World XI squad, which has the likes of Chris Gayle, Ross Taylor, Jonny Bairstow and Mitchell McClenaghan. The Asia XI, on the other hand, boasts with Indian openers KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, bowlers Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami and captain Virat Kohli. Rahul and Kohli though are set to play only one game and it is said that the BCCI are awaiting a response from their captain given the hectic schedule India are set to play in the month of March.

Along with the Indians, there are four players from Bangladesh and two each from Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. Quite surprisingly, there are no players from Pakistan. Nepal’s Sandeep Lamichhane too has found a place in the team.

It is Bangladesh who are hosting the games to celebrate the 100th birth anniversary of Father of the Nation and the games are scheduled to be played in Dhaka on March 18 and March 21. As far as the hosts are concerned, the likes of Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das have been included in the squad.

Asia XI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane

World XI squad: Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (capt), Nicholas Pooran, Ross Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan