The Asia Cup 2023 cricket tournament will start on August 31 and conclude on September 17.

Organised by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), the upcoming edition of the Asia Cup will be hosted in a hybrid model with four matches scheduled to be played in Pakistan, while the remaining nine matches will be hosted in Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Nepal are the six teams that will compete in the upcoming 50-over continental championship.

As per the schedule, the Asia Cup 2023 will feature two groups of three teams each. 

Arch-rivals India, Pakistan and Nepal are clubbed in Group A, while Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan are placed in Group B.

Two teams from each group will qualify for the Super Four stage. The top two teams in the Super Four stage will proceed to the Asia Cup 2022 final to be held on September 17.

Sri Lanka are the defending champions of the Asia Cup, having defeated Pakistan by 23 runs in the 2022 final at the Dubai International Stadium.

What is the hybrid model in cricket?

Hybrid model in cricket ensures a specific number of matches in a particular tournament will be hosted at venues of a pre-decided host nation, while few other matches are hosted in another country.

The Asia Cup 2023 will be hosted in a hybrid model. Pakistan will host four matches, while Sri Lanka will host the remaining nine matches.

Apart from Pakistan’s clash versus Nepal, Afghanistan will face Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in Pakistan. Reigning champions Sri Lanka will also lock horns with Bangladesh in Pakistan.

All matches in Pakistan are likely to be played at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Meanwhile, the much-awaited India vs Pakistan Asia Cup 2023 match will be played in Sri Lanka.

Photo credit: Alamy