The Australian cricket team host England for a five-match Ashes series starting from December 8 at The Gabba in Brisbane.

Australia are the current holders of the Ashes after the last series in 2019 ended in a draw while they won the preceding series 4-0 in 2017-18.

Australia will be led by new Test captain Pat Cummins after Tim Paine stepped down last month owing to his involvement in a sexting scandal. Meanwhile, Steve Smith will play the role of his deputy. On the other hand, England will be captained by Joe Root.  

England will welcome back star all-rounder Ben Stokes after his prolonged absence from international cricket for over six months due to mental health issues. Stokes last played an international game for England back in July 2021.  

They will hope that Stokes’ return to the fold acts as a boost to the squad as England target their first Ashes Test win in Australia since January 2011 at Sydney. 

Australia vs England head-to-head record in Ashes

Australia and England have featured in 71 Ashes series so far since 1882. Australia have won 33 while England have won 32. The last Ashes series between the two teams in 2019 ended in a 2-2 draw - the first instance since 1972.

Ashes 2021-22 series schedule and live India match times

All times in India Standard Time (IST)





December 8 - December 12

Australia vs England, 1st Test

5:30 AM


December 16 - December 20

Australia vs England, 2nd Test

9:30 AM 


December 26 - December 30

Australia vs England, 3rd Test

5:00 AM


January 5 - January 9

Australia vs England, 4th Test

5:00 AM


January 14 - January 18

Australia vs England, 5th Test

8:00 AM


Australia vs England Ashes 2021-22 series squads

Australia full squad (first two Tests): Pat Cummins (captain), Steven Smith, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhyle Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner  

England full squad: Joe Root (captain), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Where to watch Ashes 2021-22 series live in India?

The Ashes 2021-22 series will be telecast live on Sony Six and Sony Six HD. Fans can enjoy Hindi telecast on Sony Ten 3 and Sony Ten 3 HD. The Tamil and Telugu telecast will be available on Sony Ten 4 and Sony Ten 4 HD.

Live streaming of the Ashes 2021-22 series will be available on the Sony Liv app and website.

SportsAdda will bring you Ashes 2021-22 series live scores.

Featured photo: Patrick Hamilton / AFP