The first-ever Andhra Premier League will start on July 6, 2022, and run until July 17.

Andhra Premier League 2022 is the latest franchise-based T20 cricket tournament in India following the Indian T20 League, Karnataka Premier League and the Tamil Nadu Premier League.

The franchise teams who will compete in the Andhra Premier League 2022 are Uttarandhra Lions, Rayalaseema Kings, Godavari Titans, Coastal Riders, Bezwada Tigers and Vizag Warriors.

On Tuesday, June 21, the six participating teams unveiled their logos at an event in Visakhapatnam. It was attended by the franchisee owners and officials from the Andhra Cricket Association (ACA).

A player auction was held on June 24. A total of 368 players went under the hammer with noted sports anchor and auctioneer Charu Sharma presiding over the auction.

Among the 368 selected players, which includes U-19 cricketers, 12 Ranji Trophy players are designated as iconic players. Each team will be permitted to sign two iconic players on their roster.

The base price for iconic players is fixed at INR 2 lakh. 48 players in Category A starts with a price tag of INR 1.5 lakhs, whereas Category B - comprising 83 players - includes players with a base worth of INR 1 lakh. Category C features the remaining players who have a base price of INR 50,000 for the rest.

Each franchise will have a purse of INR 30 lakh, with the total team strength limited to 20 players.

The Andhra Premier League 2022 will be played in a similar format to the Indian T20 League, with an eliminator and two qualifier games to be held before the APL 2022 final on July 17.

The YSR ACA VDCA Stadium will host the Andhra Premier League 2022, with two fixtures scheduled per day. The first game will be played from 1 PM to 4:20 PM IST (Indian Standard Time), while the other will be played from 6:30 PM to 9:50 PM.

Coverage for Andhra Premier League 2022 will be available on the Star Sports Telugu channel in India.

Featured photo: AFP / NOAH SEELAM