The Afghanistan tour of UAE 2023 will get underway from February 16. All the fixtures in the three-match T20I series will be staged at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The venue will see the return of international cricket after more than a year, having last hosted multiple contests during the ICC T20 World Cup 2021. UAE have a strong record at the Sheikh Zayed stadium in the shortest format of the game, winning eight of their 11 T20Is played here.

The upcoming tour will be held as per the agreement signed between the two cricket boards in November 2022, wherein the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) offered support to Afghanistan in various capacities for a duration of the next five years.

As a result, Afghanistan have committed to playing UAE in a three-match T20I series annually until the deal expires.

Furthermore, this will be both teams’ first assignments for 2023.  

In their last bilateral series, the United Arab Emirates cricket team travelled to Nepal for three ODIs in November 2022, where they lost the series 2-1 after winning the opening match convincingly by 84 runs.

On the other hand, the Afghanistan cricket team toured Sri Lanka for three One Day Internationals during the same period. The series ended 1-1 after the second ODI was called off mid-way due to rain.

Talking about UAE vs Afghanistan head-to-head record in T20Is, the two teams have locked horns on six occasions, with UAE winning just one encounter. 

Moreover, the two nations have come together in a T20I bilateral series on just one instance, which was the Afghanistan tour of United Arab Emirates 2016. The visitors won by a margin of 3-0.

Where to watch Afghanistan tour of UAE 2023 live in India?

Live streaming of the Afghanistan tour of UAE 2023 will be available on the FanCode app and website.

There will be no telecast of the Afghanistan tour of UAE 2023 on any TV channel in India. 

Afghanistan tour of UAE 2023 squads

UAE: Rohan Mustafa (captain), Alishan Sharafu, Ansh Tandon, CP Rizwan, Muhammad Waseem, Aayan Khan, Basil Hameed, Fahad Nawaz, Sanchit Sharma, Zawar Farid, Vriitya Aravind, Junaid Siddique, Karthik Meiyappan, Muhammad Jawadullah, Raja Akif, Zahoor Khan

Afghanistan: Rashid Khan (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Abdul Rahman Rahmani, Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Bilal Sami, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Nangyal Kharoti, Naveen Ul Haq, Nijat Masoud, Noor Ahmad, Rahmat Shah, Sediqullah Atal, Shahidullah Kamal, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Zahir Khan

Afghanistan tour of UAE 2023 schedule and match times

All timings are in Indian Standard Time (IST).




February 16

1st T20I

3:30 PM

February 18

2nd T20I

3:30 PM

February 19

3rd T20I

3:30 PM


Photo credits: Alamy