After an exhilarating Men’s Asia Cup 2022 that saw Sri Lanka emerge victorious, the Women's Asia Cup 2022 was held from October 1 in Sylhet, Bangladesh.

While the initial four Women's Asia Cups (2004 to 2008) were held in ODI format, all the editions that followed (2012 to present day) have been played in the T20I format.

India Women have a history of domination in this competition as they have won seven of the eight editions of the Women's Asia Cup. 

The inaugural Women’s Asia Cup, held in the ODI format, took place in Sri Lanka back in 2004. Only two teams, India Women and Sri Lanka Women participated in the edition. Five ODI matches were played at Sinhalese Sports Club Ground and Kandy Cricket Club.

The Indian women’s cricket team whitewashed Sri Lanka women 5-0 to win their maiden Women’s Asia Cup title. India’s Anjum Chopra was adjudged the player of the tournament.

Women’s Asia Cup 2005-06 held in Pakistan, saw the team count go up by 1 as Pakistan Women joined India Women and Sri Lanka Women to become the third team to participate in the competition.

It was another comprehensive showing by India as they brushed aside Pakistan and Sri Lanka twice during the league phase before defeating Sri Lanka in the final. 

Interestingly, in the five matches India played throughout the tournament, they lost only six wickets on a whole, which speaks volumes about the team’s domination in the tournament. 

The Women’s Asia Cup 2006 saw India Women pull off a hat-trick of wins with yet another stellar display, overcoming Sri Lanka in the final for the third consecutive time.

Women’s Asia Cup 2008 saw Bangladesh make their first appearance in the competition, but it did not deter India from stamping its authority once again and pocket their fourth title. Once again, India Women faced Sri Lanka Women in the final, winning the one-sided tie by 177 runs.

After a four-year break, the competition returned in 2012 with eight teams competing for the trophy. China, Hong Kong, Nepal, and Thailand made their debuts. It was the first instance where the Women's Asia Cup was held in the T20I format.

Nonetheless, Women in Blue finished the tournament unbeaten, defending 82 runs in the final against Pakistan to lift the trophy for the fifth straight time.

The six-team Women’s Asia Cup 2016 saw India Women extend their title-winning spree to six, ending the campaign unbeaten yet again.

Team India’s winning streak finally came to an end in the 2018 edition when they lost to Bangladesh in the final. 

However, Harmanpreet Kaur-led India thrashed Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the Women's Asia Cup 2022 final to reclaim the title for a record seventh time in their history. Get Women's Asia Cup winners list.

Women's Asia Cup winners list

Year Format Winners Runners-up
2004 ODI India Sri Lanka
2005-06 ODI India Sri Lanka
2006 ODI India Sri Lanka
2008 ODI India Sri Lanka
2012 T20I India Pakistan
2016 T20I  India Pakistan
2018 T20I  Bangladesh India
2022 T20I India Sri Lanka

Photo credit: Imago