India cricket team captain Rohit Sharma made the headlines during a 2022 West Indies vs India T20I match, as he retired hurt after facing just five deliveries.
In the third T20I at Basseterre, Rohit opened the innings for India alongside Suryakumar Yadav during their run chase of 165 runs in 20 overs. After slamming a four and a six in his first four balls, the Indian captain appeared to have pulled a muscle near his waist or lower back.
Upon discussion with the physio Kamlesh Jain, Rohit Sharma walked back to the pavilion while grabbing his lower back. His score read as 11 runs in five balls.
His opening partner Suryakumar Yadav took the batting reins in his stead and slammed a 44-ball 76 to guide India to a seven-wicket win victory over the Men in Maroon.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) posted a swift update on their social media channels, terming that Rohit Sharma suffered a back spasm.
"Team India captain Rohit Sharma has a back spasm. The BCCI medical team is monitoring his progress," they posted on Twitter.
With speculations arising about his involvement in the remaining two WI vs IND T20Is, Rohit provided an update on his condition at the post-match conference stating that “hopefully it should be okay”.
“At the moment, it’s okay,” Rohit said. “We’ve got a few days till the next game. Hopefully, it should be okay," he added.
Meaning of retired hurt in cricket
As per the Marylebone Cricket Club’s (MCC) laws of cricket, a batter is deemed retired hurt if he/she is unable to continue their innings because of illness, injury or any other unavoidable cause. A consultation with the on-field umpire is sought before being granted to withdraw from their innings.
Can a retired hurt batter bat again?
A retired hurt batter is permitted to return to the crease if they recover before their team’s innings end. However, it must be noted that retired hurt batter can resume his/her innings only at the fall of a wicket or the retirement of another batter in their respective team.
What is the main difference between retired hurt and retired out in cricket?
While a retired hurt batter is provisionally allowed to bat once again during their team’s innings across any format, a retired out batter is deemed out under the Marylebone Cricket Club’s (MCC) laws of cricket.
Author: William Paul
Featured photo: AFP / JEWEL SAMAD