The Wankhede Stadium is one of the iconic cricket stadiums located in Mumbai, India.

Established in 1974, the Wankhede Stadium is owned and operated by Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA).

Situated near Marine Drive in the Churchgate neighbourhood of Mumbai, the cricket ground has a seating capacity of around 33,000.

The stadium was built after disputes between the Cricket Club of India (CCI) and MCA over the allocation of tickets for cricket matches.

It is the home ground of the Mumbai team in domestic cricket and the Mumbai franchise in the Indian T20 League. 

The Wankhede Stadium staged its first international fixture, a Test match played between hosts India and West Indies in January 1975. Led by Clive Lloyd, West Indies won by 201 runs.

It has staged several important matches in major international competitions including in 1987 Cricket World Cup, 1996 Cricket World Cup, 2011 Cricket World Cup, 2023 Cricket World Cup and the 2016 World T20. 

Apart from international matches, it has also staged several Indian T20 League matches and other T20 matches in domestic as well as at club levels.

Let’s have a closer look at the Wankhede Stadium T20 records and stats.

Wankhede Stadium T20 records and stats

Highest total

The Madhya Pradesh cricket team holds the record for the highest total at the Wankhede Stadium in T20 cricket. During a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy group match in 2019, the Naman Ojha-led Madhya Pradesh posted 244/4 in their 20 overs against Meghalaya. Electing to bat first, Madhya Pradesh rode on fifties from Rajat Patidar (68), Ashutosh Sharma (60) and Naman Ojha (56) to post a record T20 total at the venue. In reply, Meghalaya could only manage 159/9 in their allotted overs as Madhya Pradesh secured a comprehensive 85-run victory in Mumbai.

Lowest total

Team Kolkata registered the lowest total at the Wankhede Stadium in the T20 format. Put into bat, Kolkata were bundled out for 67 in 15.2 overs by Team Mumbai during the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 League in 2008. Captain Sourav Ganguly and Ajit Agarkar top-scored for Kolkata with 15 each. For Mumbai, Shaun Pollock scalped three wickets while Dwayne Bravo, Rohan Raje and Dominic Thornely bagged two wickets each. Later, the Sachin Tendulkar-led Mumbai chased down the required target in just 5.3 overs to claim an eight-wicket win.

Most runs

India cricket team captain Rohit Sharma has scored the most runs at the venue in T20 cricket. Between 2007 and 2024, the swashbuckling right-handed batter amassed 2,287 runs in 81 matches at an average of 33.63 and a strike rate of 135.48. He has slammed 16 fifties at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in cricket’s shortest format. Rohit has represented the likes of the Indian cricket team, Team Mumbai in the Indian T20 League as well as the Mumbai cricket team in domestic cricket at this venue.

Most wickets

Former Sri Lankan cricketer Lasith Malinga has scalped the most wickets at this cricket ground in the T20 format. Representing Team Mumbai in the Indian T20 League, the former right-arm pacer bagged 68 wickets in 43 matches at an average of 17.33 and an economy of 7.00. His best T20 bowling figures at the Wankhede Stadium is 4/16 against Team Deccan in Indian T20 League 2012. Malinga’s former Team Mumbai teammate Harbhajan Singh is second on the list with 53 wickets in 55 matches.  

Highest individual score

Kerala’s Mohammed Azharuddeen holds the record for the highest individual score at the Wankhede Stadium in T20 cricket. Opening the batting, Mohammed Azharuddeen smashed 137 not out off just 54 balls while chasing 197 against Mumbai in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy clash in 2021. His scintillating knock was laced with nine fours and 11 maximums as he helped Kerala chase down the target in 15.5 overs. Earlier, Mumbai scored 196/7 in their 20 overs. Kerala won the game by eight wickets.

Best bowling figures

Former Mumbai cricketer Siddhesh Lad has the best bowling figures at this venue in the T20 format. The right-arm off-spinner registered magnificent figures of 5/13 against Mizoram during a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy group match in 2019. Lad dismissed Lalhmangaiha, captain KB Pawan, Lalhruaizela, Saidingliana Sailo and Lalhruai Ralte to bowl out Mizoram for 77 in 19.3 overs. Mumbai later successfully chased down the required target in just eight overs as they won the match by 10 wickets. Apart from Lad, Harbhajan Singh, Wanindu Hasaranga, Santha Moorthy and Umran Malik have scalped five wicket-hauls in the T20 format at the Wankhede Stadium.

Highest partnership

Team Bangalore’s AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli hold the record for the highest partnership at the Wankhede Stadium in T20 cricket. During an Indian T20 League match in 2015, AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli forged an unbeaten 215-run partnership for the second wicket against Team Mumbai. While Kohi remained unbeaten on 82 not out, AB de Villiers hammered 133 not out off 59 balls to power Bangalore to 235/1 in their 20 overs. Bangalore later restricted Mumbai to 196/7 in their allotted overs to win the match by 39 runs.

Highest successful chase

The England cricket team holds the record for the highest successful chase at this venue against South Africa during an ICC World T20 clash in 2016. Chasing a target of 230, England rode on Joe Root’s 44-ball 83 and Jason Roy’s 43 off 16 balls to chase down the target in 19.4 overs with two wickets in hand.

Photo credit: Alamy