The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 will take place from October 2023 to November 2023. A total of eight teams will make it to the main tournament on the basis of their performances in the last two years, two other spots will be filled through a Qualifiers tournament.

India are all set to host the tournament for the first time in 12 years and they automatically qualify as the host nation. They had won the tournament when they last staged the event under the leadership of MS Dhoni. 

While India's position is sealed, the competition for the remaining nine spots is quite cutthroat as it stands and all 10 teams featuring in the tournament will be confirmed only after the ICC World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe culminates in July. 

A total of seven teams are set to make it to the tournament from the ICC World Cup Super League as of November 2022 and six of those spots have been confirmed after the series between India and New Zealand. 

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, England and Pakistan are already through to the main tournament regardless of what happens in the remaining games of the Super League. 

For the one remaining spot, West Indies, South Africa and Sri Lanka are battling hard.

The 1996 world champions Sri Lanka are keeping their hopes alive to qualify through the Super League after winning their third ODI against Afghanistan in Pallekele. 

Two-time world champions West Indies and the star-studded South African unit are likely to head to Zimbabwe for the Qualifiers tournament as it stands, but they will be looking to make the most of the remaining few games to seal a direct entry. 

Although India enter the tournament as hosting nation, they are leading the points table in the Super League 2020-23 with 139 points to their credit, followed by New Zealand in the second position with 130 points. 

Defending champions England have played 18 matches thus far in this cycle, winning 12 of them to occupy the third position. 

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 - Qualified teams

Means of qualification 

Number of teams


Host nation



World Cup Super League 2020-23


New Zealand







World Cup Qualifier 2023



Featured Image: James Maggs / Alamy Stock Photo