The much-awaited T20 World Cup 2024 will start on June 2 and run till June 29 in the West Indies and the United States.

Organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the ninth edition of the ICC T20 World Cup will see as many as 20 teams compete for the coveted title. The number of teams has been increased from 16 to 20 for the 2024 edition.

As per the T20 World Cup 2024 format, these participating teams have been divided into four groups of five teams each.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 stage. In this round, the qualifying teams will be split into two groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

The winner of the two semi-finals will clash in the final scheduled to be held at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados on June 29.

The Indian cricket team is placed in Group A alongside arch-rivals Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and the United States.

The inaugural T20 World Cup champions will start their campaign against Ireland at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on June 5.

The high-profile India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 clash will be played in New York on June 9.

The Men in Blue will lock horns with co-hosts USA at the same venue on June 12 before playing their final Group A match against Canada at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground in Lauderhill, Florida on June 15. 

Meanwhile, the likes of England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman are clubbed in Group B.

Group C comprises New Zealand, co-hosts West Indies, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea and Uganda.

South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal are placed in Group D.

Ahead of the marquee ICC T20 tournament, the Indian cricket team fans are eagerly awaiting the squad announcement to find out which players will compete in the upcoming T20 World Cup to end the Men in Blue’s title drought in ICC events since 2013. Know T20 World Cup 2024 India’s squad announcement date.

T20 World Cup 2024 India’s squad announcement date

The Indian cricket team’s 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 is likely to be announced in the last week of April as the ICC's cut-off date for submission of teams is May 1.

The Indian team selectors are currently monitoring the performance of players in Indian T20 League 2024.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah already announced that Rohit Sharma will be the skipper of the Indian team for the marquee ICC event.

While a few of the players like Rohit, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and the world’s top ranked T20 batter Suryakumar Yadav are nailed on certainties for the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup, a few other players are still playing for their spot in the side.

As mentioned above, while India’s squad announcement for the T20 World Cup 2024 can be expected by the end of April, teams will still have the freedom to make a few changes. 

Every participating team will get a chance to change players in their initial squad till May 25, a week prior to the start of the tournament.

Photo credit: Alamy