Super Smash is the men’s domestic T20 competition held annually in New Zealand since the 2005-06 season.

Canterbury Wizards were the inaugural champions of Super Smash as they defeated Auckland Aces by six wickets in the 2005-06 final. Since then, there have been 17 editions of the tournament.

From the 2008-09 season until 2013-14 season, the winner would directly qualify for the now-defunct Champions League Twenty20 tournament.

The tournament consists of a double round-robin, with the top three teams qualifying for the play-offs. As per the rules of the competition, each side is allowed to play up to two overseas players since the 2010-11 season.

Auckland Aces and Wellington Firebirds are the most successful franchises in the Super Smash T20 tournament with four titles each.

Meanwhile, Northern Brave are the reigning champions of the competition as they overcame Canterbury Kings by 56 runs in the 2021-22 season. 

Super Smash T20 winners list

Season Winner
2005-06 Canterbury Wizards
2006-07 Auckland Aces
2007-08 Central Stags
2008-09 Otago Volts
2009-10 Central Stags
2010-11 Auckland Aces
2011-12 Auckland Aces
2012-13 Otago Volts
2013-14 Northern Knights
2014-15 Wellington Firebirds
2015-16 Auckland Aces
2016-17 Wellington Firebirds
2017-18 Northern Knights
2018-19 Central Stags
2019-20 Wellington Firebirds
2020-21 Wellington Firebirds
2021-22 Northern Brave

Featured photo: STR / AFP