India rode on Hardik Pandya’s pyrotechnics to seal the three-match T20I series as the Men in Blue registered a comprehensive six-wicket victory at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Sunday.

After India’s new blue-eyed boy T Natarajan showed nerves of steel to restrict the Australian cricket team to 195 with his brilliant death bowling, the hosts were never in control of the game while fielding.

After Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli provided a solid start to the Indian cricket team while chasing the steep target, Shreyas Iyer and Hardik Pandya showed maturity to take the match home with two balls to spare.

Shikhar Dhawan climbing the peak

The victory not only extended India’s envious winning streak in T20Is to 10 games but also saw some individual milestones being achieved in the process. And leading that list is Indian opener, Shikhar Dhawan.

The southpaw’s 52 runs off 36 balls on Sunday took him to the top of the list of the most run scored by a left-handed Indian batsman in T20Is. He is followed by Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, and Gautam Gambhir.

Player Match Runs 50/100s
Shikhar Dhawan 63* 1641 0/11
Suresh Raina 78 1605 1/5
Yuvraj Singh 58 1177 0/8
Gautam Gambhir 37 932 0/7

Virat Kohli breaks MS Dhoni's record

After an underwhelming cameo in the first T20I, Indian skipper Virat Kohli led India’s batting charge as his chasing DNA was very much evident. The skipper’s 24-balls-40 had two boundaries and two big hits as Kohli ran his way to build the perfect foundation for Hardik Pandya to accelerate.

In doing this, Kohli has broken his predecessor and mentor MS Dhoni and compatriot Rohit Sharma's record as the captain with highest number of consecutive T20I wins (8).

Captain Consecutive Wins  From To
MS Dhoni 7 28 December 2012 4 April 2014
MS Dhoni 7 12 February 2016 6 March 2016
Rohit Sharma 7 8 March 2018 11 November 2018
Virat Kohli 8* 7 January 2020 6 Decemner 2020

Hardik Pandya enters elite club

Taking on the Aussies is never an easy task and very few batsmen in the world have executed it with aplomb. India’s swashbuckling batsman, Hardik Pandya is one of them.

The batting all-rounder hit three boundaries and two sixes to help India win the match as his knock of 42 from 22 balls saw him entering an elite club of world-class batsmen, who boasts of some mindboggling strike rates against the mighty Australians.

Player Runs  Strike Rate Ground Date
Yuvraj Singh (IND) 77* 220.00 Rajkot 10 October 2013
Kieron Pollard (WI) 54* 207.69 Gros Islet 27 March 2012
Hardik Pandya (IND)  42* 190.00 Sydney 6 December 2020
Joe Root (ENG) 90* 183.67 Southampton 29 August 2013
Danushka Gunaratne (SL) 84* 182.60 Geelong 19 February 2017

Matthew Wade's unwanted record

Matthew Wade’s opening knock was the only welcoming thing from Australia’s forgettable evening on Sunday as the new skipper smashed most of the balls out of the park.

While his blistering knock of 58 from 32 balls helped him become the fourth Australian player to score a fifty on his T20I captaincy debut, the eventual defeat meant Wade was also the fourth Australian skipper to lose in his T20I debut. He is preceded by Cameron White, Steven Smith and Shane Watson.

Captain  Opposition  Result Venue Date
Cameron White England Loss Adelaide 12 January 2011
Steven Smith England Loss Cardiff 31 August 2015
Shane Watson India Loss Sydney 31 January 2016
Matthew Wade India Loss Sydney 6 December 2020