The Sher-e-Bangla Stadium is situated in Mirpur, a few kilometers away from the capital city of Dhaka in Bangladesh. 

Named after Bengali statesman A. K. Fazlul Huq, who was accorded the title Sher-e-Bangla meaning “Tiger of Bengal”, the stadium has a seating capacity of roughly 25,000.

Initially constructed for football in the 1980s, the venue was taken over by the Bangladesh Cricket Board in 2004 amid a wave of criticism. Following refurbishment, it replaced the Bangabandhu National Stadium as the home for men’s and women’s national cricket teams.

Sher-e-Bangla stadium has staged quite a few high-profile cricket matches in the past decade. 

A host of matches in the ICC World Cup 2011, three consecutive Asia Cups between 2012 and 2016, along with the finals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2014 and Women's World Twenty20 2014 were held here.

Interestingly, it is known for its fantastic drainage facilities which are deemed among the best in the Asian subcontinent.

The Sher-e-Bangla Stadium hosted its first-ever international cricket game in December 2006, which was an ODI match between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. The hosts registered a dominant eight-wicket win thanks to Aftab Ahmed’s unbeaten half-century.

Here, we will have a look at the ODI records of the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.

Sher-e-Bangla Stadium ODI records

Highest total: The highest total in an ODI match at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium is 370/4 made by India against Bangladesh in the group stage match of the ICC World Cup 2011.

Veteran batters Virender Sehwag and Virat Kohli scored centuries to help the MS Dhoni-led side post a daunting total of 370/4. In reply, pacer Munaf Patel’s four-wicket haul restricted the Bangla Tigers to 283/9, helping India win the match by 87 runs.

Lowest total: Bangladesh cricket team has been bundled out twice for 58 runs, which is the lowest total recorded in ODIs at this venue.

The group phase match of the ICC World Cup 2011 between Bangladesh and the West Indies saw the Caribbean bowlers breathe fire in the first innings to bowl out the Shakib Al Hasan-led side for 58 within 19 overs. Thereafter, the Windies batters chased down the target easily with nine wickets to spare.

Three years later, during the India tour of Bangladesh in 2014, the hosts suffered a similar fate. In the second ODI, Taskin Ahmed’s fifer meant India could only muster 105/10. The match was there for the taking for the hosts, but the pace duo of Mohit Sharma and Stuart Binny had other ideas as they took 10 wickets between them to defend a low total.   

Highest individual score: Former Australia all-rounder Shane Watson holds the record for the highest individual score in an ODI at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. 

He scored a scintillating 96-ball 185 against Bangladesh in the second ODI of the Australia tour of Bangladesh 2011. The knock, played at a fantastic strike rate of 192.70, featured 15 fours and sixes apiece.

Moreover, Indian batter Virat Kohli’s highest individual ODI score of 183 runs was registered at this venue against Pakistan in the Asia Cup 2012 encounter.

Best bowling: Four cricketers have taken six-wicket hauls at this venue in ODIs, with former Team India all-rounder Stuart Binny registering the best figures.

In the same match where Bangladesh registered the lowest total at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in 2014, it was Indian pacer Stuart Binny’s terrific spell of 6/4 that rattled the hosts in the second innings.

South African seamer Kagiso Rabada and Bangladeshi pace duo Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman are the others to take six wickets in an ODI at this ground.

Highest partnership: The Pakistani pair of Mohammad Hafeez and Nasir Jamshed holds the record for the highest partnership of 224 runs in ODIs at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. 

In the fifth match of the Asia Cup 2012, the opening pair’s compelling stand of 224 runs helped Pakistan post a massive total of 329/6.

Set a target of 330, Team India suffered an early blow when opener Gautam Gambhir departed for a duck. 

Nonetheless, Hafeez’s and Jamshed’s efforts went in vain as Virat Kohli’s ton, coupled with important contributions from Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma helped India emerge victorious by six wickets.


Featured image: Alamy