The Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium is one of the iconic cricket venues located in the Punjab province of Pakistan. 

Inaugurated in January 1992, the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium replaced Pindi Club Ground as an international stadium in the city.

With a seating capacity of 15,000, it is the home ground of Islamabad United and Northern.

The stadium staged its first international cricket match, a one-day international played between hosts Pakistan and Sri Lanka in 1992. Led by legendary Imran Khan, Pakistan won the match by 117 runs.

A year later, it hosted its first Test match that involved Pakistan and Zimbabwe. The hosts won the Test by 52 runs.

Almost three decades later, it staged its first T20 international played between Pakistan and Zimbabwe in November 2020. 

Apart from international cricket, it has hosted several T20 domestic matches in the National T20 Cup and the Pakistan Super League. Let’s have a look at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium T20 records and stats:

Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium T20 records and stats

Highest team total

Multan Sultans hold the record for the highest team total at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in T20 cricket. During a Pakistan Super clash in 2023, the Mohammad Rizwan-led Multan Sultans posted 262/3 in their 20 overs against Quetta Gladiators. Put into bat, the Sultans rode on opener Usman Khan’s 43-ball 120 along with contributions from Mohammad Rizwan (55) and Tim David (43 not out) to register a record total at the venue. In reply, the Gladiators almost pulled off an incredible run-chase as they fell short by just nine runs.

Lowest team total

Larkana Region registered the lowest team total at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in T20s. Chasing 124, Larkana were bundled out for 65 in 13.4 overs by Azad Jammu & Kashmir Region during a National T20 Cup clash in 2015. Usman Maroof scalped three wickets while Naqash Basharat and Irfan Talib picked two wickets each to help Azad Jammu & Kashmir win the game by 58 runs. Earlier, Hasan Raza slammed fifty to power Azad Jammu & Kashmir to 123/8 in their 20 overs.

Most runs

Pakistan star batter Babar Azam has scored the most runs at the venue in T20 cricket. While representing the likes of Pakistan, Central Punjab Pakistan, Islamabad Leopards, Islamabad Region, Karachi Kings, Lahore Blues and Peshawar Zalmi between 2014 and 2023, the swashbuckling right-handed batter has accumulated 1,340 runs in 31 matches at an average of 60.90 and a strike rate of 138.42. The former Pakistan captain has registered two centuries and 12 fifties in the T20 format at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. Former Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Kamran Akmal features second on the list with 1,105 runs in 34 matches.

Most wickets

Former Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz bagged the most wickets at this cricket ground in cricket’s shortest format while representing teams like Central Punjab Pakistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Lahore Lions, Lahore Region Whites, Lahore Whites, Pakistan and Peshawar Zalmi. The left-arm pacer scalped 57 wickets in 45 matches at an average of 19.84 and an economy of 7.09 between 2012 and 2023. His best T20 bowling figures at this venue is 5/21. His former teammate Anwar Ali is second on the list with 49 wickets in 44 matches.

Highest individual score

Kamran Akmal holds the record for the highest individual score at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in T20 cricket. Representing Lahore Whites, opener Kamran Akmal smashed an unbeaten 150 off just 71 balls to help his side post a huge total of 209/0 against Islamabad in a National T20 Cup encounter in 2017. Akmal’s magnificent knock included 14 fours and 12 maximums. In reply, Islamabad were bundled out for 100 in 18.4 overs. Lahore Whites won the game comprehensively by 109 runs.

Best bowling figures

Pakistan spinner Agha Salman registered the best bowling figures at this venue in the cricket’s format. During a National T20 Cup clash in 2022, the right-arm off-spinner recorded figures of 5/10 in his three overs for Southern Punjab. Defending 166, Agha Salman dismissed Central Punjab’s Abdullah Shafique, captain Qasim Akram, Irfan Khan, Junaid Ali and Wahab Riaz to bowl them out for 79 in 14.3 overs. Agha Salman’s incredible spell guided Southern Punjab to an 86-run victory in Rawalpindi.

Highest partnership

Former Pakistan cricketers Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt hold the record for the highest partnership at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in T20 cricket. While playing for the Lahore Whites, Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt forged an unbeaten 209-run stand for the opening wicket against Islamabad during a National T20 Cup match in 2017. Put into bat, Akmal slammed 150 not out while Salman Butt remained unbeaten on 55 to help Lahore Whites post a massive total of 209 without loss of any wicket. Lahore later bowled out Islamabad for 100 to win the game by 109 runs.

Photo credit: Alamy