Former England cricket team captain Archie MacLaren scored the first quadruple in cricket. A quadruple century is recorded when a batter scores an individual score of 400 runs or more in an innings.

MacLaren achieved this incredible feat in 1895. Playing for Lancashire, MacLaren scored 424 against Somerset at the County Ground in Taunton. 

Just eight cricketers have managed to score quadruple centuries in cricket, further accentuating what a rare feat it is. 

Legendary West Indies batter Brian Lara etched his name into the history books as he recorded the highest score in first-class cricket when he smashed an unbeaten 501 in 1994. While playing for Warwickshire, Lara broke the record against Durham at Edgbaston in Birmingham, England. 

Interestingly, Lara also became the only cricketer to score a quadruple century in international cricket. The southpaw played an incredible inning of 400 not out against England in a Test match at the Antigua Recreation Ground in 2004. 

Meanwhile, former Australia cricketer Bill Ponsford is the only other player to score two quadruple centuries in cricket. Playing for Victoria, Ponsford hammered a quadruple century against Tasmania in 1923 and later smashed another quadruple century against Queensland in 1927.

Arguably the greatest batter of all time, Don Bradman also features in this elite list for quadruple centuries in cricket. ‘The Don’ scored an unbeaten 452 for New South Wales against Queensland at the Sydney Cricket Ground in 1930. Interestingly, his innings which lasted 415 minutes, was the quickest quadruple century ever scored.

Pakistan cricket legend Hanif Mohammad surpassed Don Bradman's record for the highest individual first-class innings in 1959. Playing for Karachi, Mohammad scored 499 against Bahawalpur but was dismissed in an unfortunate incident as he was run out trying to complete his five hundredth run.

India’s Bhausaheb Nimbalkar, Aftab Baloch of Pakistan and England's Graeme Hick are the other cricketers to score a quadruple century in first-class cricket.

Quadruple centuries in cricket

Player Runs Team Opposition Ground Year
Brian Lara 501* Warwickshire Durham  Birmingham 1994
Hanif Mohammad 499 Karachi Bahawalpur Karachi 1959
Don Bradman 452* New South Wales Queensland Sydney 1930
Bhausaheb Nimbalkar 443* Maharashtra Kathiawar Pune 1948
Bill Ponsford 437 Victoria Queensland Melbourne 1927
Bill Ponsford 429 Victoria Tasmania Melbourne 1923
Aftab Baloch 428 Sind Baluchistan Karachi 1974
Archie MacLaren 424 Lancashire Somerset Taunton 1895
Graeme Hick 405* WORCS Somerset Taunton 1988
Brian Lara 400* West Indies England St John's 2004

Featured photo: Arif Ali / AFP