In the age of fast-paced cricket where the T20-format has risen in popularity and careers are often cut short due to the demands of the multiple formats in the modern game, there are still some gentlemen who have stood the test of time by featuring in every edition of the T20 World Cup.

The first T20 World Cup was played in 2007 in South Africa where India stunned the world by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan. As the tournament returns for its seventh edition 14 years later, we have a look at the players who are set to participate in their seventh T20 World Cup campaign, which is a testament to their longevity, fitness, passion and discipline.

Rohit Sharma (India)

Regarded as one of the most dangerous T20 players of the current generation, Rohit Sharma has been making waves in the Indian T20 circuit since 2007 when India were crowned the inaugural champions. Interestingly, he made his T20I debut in the match against England where Yuvraj Singh went berserk with six sixes

Though he did not get to bat in that match, Rohit pounced at the very next opportunity against South Africa with an unbeaten 50. Till date, he has amassed 673 runs in 28 matches at a strike rate of 127.22 with six half-centuries in the T20 World Cups.. 

Chris Gayle (West Indies)

Chris Gayle is second on the list of all-time run-getters in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup with 920 runs in 28 matches at an impressive strike rate of 146.73. The 42-year old is also the only player to smash two centuries at the world event in addition to his seven half-centuries.

The Universe Boss has been a part of two T20 World Cup winning sides in 2012 and 2016. The West Indian superstar also leads the list for smashing the most number of sixes (60) in the 20-over World Cup.

Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)

Dwayne Bravo is a T20 stalwart and has always remained a key part of the Caribbean T20 side since the inaugural World Cup in 2007. He has scored 504 runs in 29 matches at an average of 24. 

Furthermore, he has taken 25 wickets at an average of 25.80. The all-rounder stepped away from all forms of international cricket in October 2018 but came out of retirement to represent the Windies in the T20 format from December 2019. 

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

One of the legends of Bangladesh cricket, Shakib Al Hasan has accumulated the most runs for his country at the T20 World Cup -  567 runs in 25 matches at a strike rate of 128.86 with three half-centuries. 

Furthermore, he has also accounted for 30 wickets at an average of 19.53 with a best bowling effort of 4/15. At 34 years of age, the all-rounder is set to play in his seventh T20 World Cup. 

Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh)

Bangladesh’s renowned wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim played the 2007 T20 World Cup as a 20-year old and has been a part of every edition since. He has scored 258 runs in 25 matches at a strike rate of 104.45. 

Even though he’s been an ever-present in T20 World Cups, Mushfiqur has not set the tournament on fire and has failed to score even a single half-century in the past six editions, which is something he’ll be eager to change this time around.

Mahmudullah (Bangladesh)

Another Bangladesh cricketer that makes it to the list is Mahmudullah. He has played 22 T20 World Cup matches and has scored 194 runs at a strike rate of 103.19. The 35-year old has also taken eight wickets at an economy rate of 6.91 in the 20-over World Cup.

Featured photo : Money Sharma / AFP