Reigning ICC World Test Champions New Zealand will host Sri Lanka in a crucial two-match Test series from March 9. 

The first of the two Test matches will be played at the Hagley Oval, Christchurch from March 9 to 13. The second match will be held at the Basin Reserve, Wellington from March 17 to 21. NZ vs SL 2023 Test series will be live streamed in India. 

New Zealand, currently reeling at eighth spot on the nine-team ICC World Test Championship (WTC) points table, cannot qualify for the WTC 2021-23 final. 

Sri Lanka are third and have an outside chance of making it to the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 final on June 11 at The Oval, London.

If Sri Lanka win the series 2-0 against New Zealand and India lose the fourth Test against Australia in the Border-Gavaskar trophy, Sri Lanka will finish second on the WTC points table and qualify for the final. Any other result or scenario will see an India vs Australia final.

However, the Sri Lanka men’s cricket team will have its task cut out against the Black Caps in the two-match series. Sri Lanka haven’t won a Test series in New Zealand since a famous 1-0 victory in 1995. 

Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the Sri Lankan side which includes experienced players like Angelo Mathews. New Zealand will be captained by pacer Tim Southee and will be pinning hopes on the likes of Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson and Neil Wagner.

Sri Lanka last won a Test series against New Zealand in 2009 which was played in Sri Lanka. 

In the last Test series played between the two sides in 2019, Sri Lanka, the home team, won the first match by six wickets but were humbled in the second match by innings and 65 runs.

The series in New Zealand will be Sri Lanka’s first Test assignment of the year. New Zealand, meanwhile, beat England by one run to level a two-match series after losing the first match.

Where to watch New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 Test series live in India?

Live streaming of the NZ vs SL 2023 Test series in India will be available on the Amazon Prime app and website. 

There will be no telecast for New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 Test series in India.

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 Test series 

New Zealand: Tim Southee (Captain), Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson, Michael Bracewell, Daryl Mitchell, Scott Kuggeleijn, Will Young, Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Devon Conway, Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Matt Henry, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kamindu Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ramesh Mendis, Milan Rathnayake, Chamika Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Chandimal (wicket-keeper), Niroshan Dickwella (wicket-keeper), Nishan Madushka (wicket-keeper), Prabath Jayasuriya, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando.

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 2023 Test series schedule and match times in India

As per Indian Standard Times (IST)

Start Date Match Venue Time
March 9, Thursday New Zealand vs Sri Lanka first Test match Hagley Oval, Christchurch 3:30 AM
March 17, Friday New Zealand vs Sri Lanka second Test match Basin Reserve, Wellington 3:30 AM

Photo credits: Alamy