The Narendra Modi Stadium, also known as Motera Stadium and previously known as Sardar Patel Stadium became the world’s biggest stadium after its grand reopening in February 2020. 

The stadium accommodates a maximum of 1,32,000 spectators. It surpassed the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground, which can accommodate 1,00,024 people to make it to the Guinness Book of World Records with 101,566 spectators at the final of the Indian T20 League 2022. 

After being established in 1983, the stadium underwent construction for five years between 2015 and 2020, with an estimated cost of ₹800 crores (US$100 million). It was renamed after the current Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi following its grand reopening. 

There have been several 20-over encounters at this venue and here’s a closer look at the T20 records at the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Narendra Modi Stadium T20 records

Most runs

Ajinkya Rahane has scored 425 runs at this stadium for India, Mumbai, and Team Rajasthan in the Indian T20 League. In 11 matches, the batter has a high score of 76*. Rahane has reached the half-century mark four times at this venue. The Mumbai-born batter has hit 42 fours and seven sixes, and has an average of 47.22 and a strike rate of 121.08 in T20s at this venue. 

In T20Is, Virat Kohli, who has played six matches here, has amassed the most runs having totalled 258 runs at an average of 86 and strike rate of 144.13 on this ground. 

Most wickets

Amit Mishra has bagged 10 wickets at this venue - the most by any player - while representing India, Delhi Capitals, Delhi Daredevils, Haryana and Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 26.3 overs of bowling for the above-mentioned teams in seven matches at this venue, Mishra has an average and economy of 19.60 and 7.39 respectively.   

Shardul Thakur is the player who has the most T20I wickets at this venue having accounted for eight scalps in five games at an average of 21 and a strike rate of 9.69.

Highest individual score

Shubman Gill made 126* runs off 63 balls for India when they faced New Zealand on February 1, 2023, at this stadium. His effort proved to be match-winning and is the highest individual T20I score at this venue.

Vijay Zol holds the record for the highest domestic T20 score at the Narendra Modi Stadium with his 109 runs for Maharashtra against Mumbai. In the 2012-13 season of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the opener brought up his 109 off 63 balls with 11 fours and five sixes. Zol helped accelerate Maharashtra’s innings and take them to 215/4. Eventually, Mumbai could only manage 198/9 and lost the game by 17 runs.

Best bowling figures

Mehul Patel’s five-wicket haul for Gujarat in the 2012-13 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy season remains the best at this ground. He conceded eight runs while taking five scalps when his team faced Saurashtra in March 2013. Gujarat made 187/5 in the first innings, but thanks to Patel’s 5/8, Saurashtra could only manage 115 in response.   

India’s Hardik Pandya has bowling figures of 4/16 at this venue against New Zealand from when the two countries faced each other in February 2023. While Pandya's effort ended in a winning cause, it’s also the best bowling T20I bowling figures at this ground.

Highest team total

India hold the record for the highest team total at this venue after scoring 234/4 when they faced New Zealand in February 2023 in the third and final game of the T20I series. Put in to bat first, India made the total with Shubman Gill’s 126* off 63 balls, followed by Rahul Tripathi’s 44 off 22, Suryakumar Yadav’s 24 off 13 and Hardik Pandya’s 30 off 17. India won the match by 168 runs and clinched the series win 2-1 against the visitors. 

In 2013, Maharashtra beat Mumbai with a total of 215/4, which is the highest T20 total at the domestic level at the venue.

Lowest team total

In T20Is, New Zealand’s 66 against India in 2023 is the lowest recorded total at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The Kiwis lost the series-decider of the three-match series against India by 168 runs.

In domestic T20 cricket, Karnataka scored 87 runs against Punjab and suffered a nine-wicket loss on this ground during the 2020-21 season of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. It is the lowest team total at this venue at the domestic level. 

Highest partnership

Ajinkya Rahane and Shane Watson stitched together a 144-run partnership for Rajasthan against Chennai in the Indian T20 League in April 2015. Rahane made 76* off 55 and Watson amassed 73 off 47 to chase a target of 157. Because of their efforts, Rajasthan won by eight wickets against Chennai with 10 balls remaining. 

In T20Is, Jos Buttler and Dawid Malan put together 130 runs for England in March 2021 when they attempted to chase the highest total at the ground  – 224/2 by India. Both batters brought up their half-centuries, but the rest of the batting lineup failed to contribute. England could only manage 188 and lost the game by 36 runs.


Photo credits: Alamy