Former Indian captain and wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is still a force to be reckoned with in T20s, the only format where he is still active. MSD, as he is fondly called, still leads Team Chennai in the Indian T20 League.

For more than a decade, ‘Captain Cool’ has enthralled the cricketing universe with his towering sixes, mind-numbing finishes, wicket-keeping magic, captaincy masterclasses, and much more. To top it all, he is the only captain ever to get his hands on all ICC trophies - the 50-over World Cup, the T20I World Cup and the ICC Champions Trophy. 

He has also captained Team Chennai since the inception of the Indian T20 League in 2008 and has clobbered bowlers from various franchises all over the park over the years. His ability to finish matches remains unparalleled as several death bowlers can attest for.

“If 15 runs are needed off the last over, pressure is on the bowler...not on MS Dhoni," commentator Ian Bishop said a few years back.

However, there have been some bowlers who have gotten the better of him more than once while squaring up against the Indian legend. 

Bowlers who dismissed MS Dhoni the most in T20 cricket

Former left-arm Indian pacer Zaheer Khan leads the bowlers list for players who have dismissed MS Dhoni the most. ‘Zak’ has done so seven times - more than any other bowler in the world. 

Another left-arm bowler albeit a spinner, Pragyan Ojha has dismissed him six times in the T20 format. A bowler known for taking away the bowl from the right-hander, Ojha enjoyed plenty of success against one of the world’s most dreaded T20 batsmen and finishers. 


Number of dismissals

Zaheer Khan


Pragyan Ojha


Jasprit Bumrah


Kieron Pollard


Lasith Malinga


Shane Watson


Trent Boult


Trent Boult, also a left-arm bowler, makes the list having dismissed Dhoni three times in T20s.

Featured photo : Arun Sankar / AFP