The Bangladesh Premier League is an eagerly awaited tournament that attracts top cricketers from around the world. 

The current 2023 season has been no exception, with many players putting on strong performances in their bid to be crowned the bowler with the most wickets in the competition.

Shakib Al Hasan took 23 wickets in 15 matches in the 2019 campaign, which is the record for most wickets in a single season.

The BPL 2023 got underway with Sylhet Strikers’ crushing eight-wicket win over Chattogram Challengers in the first match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium. Opting to bowl first, Sylhet Strikers’ Zakir Hasan ran out Mehedi Maruf to claim the first wicket for his team. 

Pacer Mohammad Amir registered the first wicket of the tournament when he dismissed Darwish Rasooli with a peach of a delivery to kickstart the race for the award for most wickets in Bangladesh Premier League 2023. 

Sylhet Strikers’ young right-arm seamer Rejaur Rahman Raja bagged the campaign’s maiden four-wicket haul in the opening match itself, with his 4/14 helping him receive the Player of the Match award.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Sylhet Strikers (@sylhetstrikers)

Both the Sylhet Strikers bowlers have dominated the proceedings with their sheer pace, bagging 10-plus wickets each to see their team top the BPL 2023 points table.

Meanwhile, Khulna Tigers’ fast bowler Wahab Riaz, well known for his fiery exploits in the 2015 World Cup, also features among the leading wicket-takers in Bangladesh Premier League 2023.

Moreover, Riaz, alongside Nasir Hossain, is the only bowler who averages less than 15 among bowlers with 10-plus wickets in the tournament, indicating his prowess in the ongoing campaign.

Pacer Mashrafe Mortaza is another Sylhet Strikers cricketer who makes it to the top 10 list of most wickets in BPL 2023. Mortaza, who also features in Bangladesh Premier League all-time wicket-takers, has been an integral part of the Strikers’ set-up.

Bangladeshi trio of Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud and Al-Amin Hossain too appear in the top wicket-takers list this season, with just a handful of wickets separating the three bowlers.

Most wickets in Bangladesh Premier League 2023

Player Team Matches Wickets
Tanvir Islam Comilla Victorians 12 17
Hasan Mahmud Rangpur Riders 14 17
Nasir Hossain Dhaka Dominators 12 16
Azmatullah Omarzai Rangpur Riders 11 15
Rubel Hossain Sylhet Strikers 8 14
Mohammad Amir Sylhet Strikers 11 14
Wahab Riaz Khulna Tigers 7 13
Rejaur Rahman Raja Sylhet Strikers 8 13
Nihaduzzaman Chattogram Challengers 9 12
Imad Wasim Sylhet Strikers 11 12
Al-Amin Hossain Dhaka Dominators 8 12

Photo credit: Alamy