India’s star cricketer Rohit Sharma currently holds the record for playing the most T20 International matches

Since making his T20I debut against England at Kingsmead in 2007, Rohit Sharma has already featured in 147 T20 Internationals  - the most by any player in the shortest format of cricket.

Between 2007 and 2022, the current Indian cricket team captain has amassed 3,826 T20I runs in 147 matches at a strike rate of 140.37 while also maintaining a decent average of 31.36. He has smashed four centuries and 29 fifties in his T20I career so far.

Rohit is the fifth cricketer and second Indian to score 2,000 runs in T20I cricket. Virat Kohli, Brendon McCullum, Shoaib Malik and Martin Guptill are the four other cricketers to achieve the incredible feat.

Interestingly, Rohit was part of the Indian side that won the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007.

The Nagpur-born cricketer also played a pivotal role in helping India clinch the inaugural T20I edition of the Asia Cup in Bangladesh in 2016.

Following his impressive run in the T20I format, Rohit was included as an opener in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Decade.

Pakistan batter Shoaib Malik is second on the list for the most T20 International matches.

The former Pakistan captain played 124 T20 internationals since making his debut against England at County Ground in 2006.

Shoaib Malik has scored 2,435 runs at an average of 31.22 and a strike rate of 125.64. He registered nine fifties to his name in international cricket’s shortest format.

Malik was part of the Pakistan team that won their maiden ICC World T20 title at the iconic Lord’s in 2009.

New Zealand’s Martin Guptill features third on the list. Between 2009 and 2022, Guptill has featured in 122 T20 Internationals so far.

The swashbuckling batter made his T20I debut against arch-rivals Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in 2009. The opening batter has accumulated 3,497 runs at an average of 31.79 and a strike rate of 135.80. He has hit two hundreds and 20 fifties in his illustrious T20I career.

Bangladesh’s Mahmudullah and Mohammad Hafeez of Pakistan complete this top five list.

While Mahmudullah has played 121 T20 Internationals, Mohammad Hafeez has played 119.

Most T20 international matches

Player Span Matches
Rohit Sharma (India) 2007-2022 147
Shoaib Malik (Pakistan) 2006-2021 124
Martin Guptill (New Zealand) 2009-2022 122
Mahmudullah (Bangladesh) 2007-2022 121
Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan) 2006-2021 119
Paul Sterling (Ireland) 2009-2022 119
Eoin Morgan (England) 2009-2022 115
Virat Kohli (India) 2010-2022 114
Kevin O'Brien (Ireland) 2008-2021 110
George Dockrell (Ireland) 2010-2022 105


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Sajjad HUSSAIN / AFP