The Indian T20 League has witnessed some outrageous knocks over the 12 seasons and some of them witnessed batsmen going completely berserk. These knocks by batsmen resulted in the most sixes in an innings in the Indian T20 League. 

Chris Gayle - 17

In the highest individual knock in T20 history, West Indies opener Chris Gayle slammed an epochal 175 in 66 balls studded with a mind-blowing 17 sixes. In a knock that progressed at a strike rate of 265.15, Gayle hit Pune India bowlers to all corners of the Chinnaswamy Stadium as Bangalore recorded what is now the fourth-highest total in T20 history. 

Read | Five highest team totals in the Indian T20 League

Chris Gayle - 13

Chris Gayle's six-hitting prowess is second to none. He has the most sixes in the history of the format and it is no surprise that he features a few times in this list. Against Hyderabad in 2012, Gayle went on another six-hitting spree, bludgeoning 13 of them in a knock of 128 in 62 balls. 

Read | Five lowest scores defended in the Indian T20 League

Brendon McCullum - 13

Few who watched would forget the innings that set the Indian T20 League alive. Brendon McCullum, playing for Kolkata, blasted 158 in 73 balls in the first-ever Indian T20 League game between Kolkata and Bangalore. Progressing at a strike rate of more than 215, McCullum recorded 13 sixes and 10 fours in the game. 

Read | Five lowest team totals in the Indian T20 League

AB de Villiers - 12

AB de Villiers holds the record for the fastest century in ODIs and the South African is not averse to slamming many sixes in an innings. In 2016, Gujarat faced his wrath in a game at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. The Bangalore batsman hit 129 in 52 balls, sharing a fantastic partnership with Virat Kohli along the way. De Villiers hit 12 sixes and 10 fours in his innings.

Read | Who are currently the quickest scoring openers in Indian T20 League?

Chris Gayle - 12

Yet another time Chris Gayle features in this list as the West Indian batsman recorded another of his six Indian T20 League hundreds in 2015 against Punjab. Gayle hit 12 maximums in an innings that spanned just 57 balls and yielded 117 runs. The Bangalore opener is the only batsman to record over 10 sixes four times in the league.