The Bangladesh Premier League is a leading 20-over franchise cricket tournament, which takes place in the south Asian country every year.

Since it began in 2012, the Bangladesh Premier League has seen some terrific batters from around the globe plying their trade in the tournament and living up to their billing by smashing bowlers all around the ground while amassing quite a few runs in the process.

Left-handed batter Tamim Iqbal is the leading run-scorer in BPL history with 2,930 runs. The Bangladesh batter, who has played for multiple teams in the tournament over the years, is one of the most feared players in the competition.

Most runs in Bangladesh Premier League

Player Matches Runs
Tamim Iqbal 89 2,930
Mushfiqur Rahim 111 2,882
Mahmudullah 104 2,283
Imrul Kayes 106 2,188
Shakib Al Hasan 100 2,142
Anamul Haque 107 2,088
Mohammad Mithun 100 1,881
Sabbir Rahman 96 1,740
Chris Gayle 52 1,723
Litton Das 81 1,684

Tamil Iqbal (2012-2023) - 2,930 runs in BPL history

The veteran opening batter has played for various franchises throughout his time in the Bangladesh Premier League.

Following an underwhelming first season with Chittagong Kings where he scored just eight runs from two innings, his BPL career kick-started in the following campaign while representing Duronto Rajshahi as he scored 244 runs from 10 matches, including three half-centuries.

The southpaw’s best individual season came in 2016 when he finished as the highest run-scorer with 476 runs in 13 matches, including six 50-plus scores. 

In the 2018-19 season, he helped Comilla Victorians win the league, scoring a scintillating century (141* off 61) in the final against Dhaka Dynamites.

Moreover, during the 2019-20 campaign, the Bangladeshi batter became the first player to go past the 2000-run mark in the league.

Mushfiqur Rahim (2012-2023) - 2,882 runs in BPL history

Mushfiqur Rahim’s BPL career has been similar to that of his national teammate Tamim Iqbal as he too has switched franchises at regular intervals. 

After being named the ‘icon player’ for Duronto Rajshahi in the inaugural edition, Rahim scored 234 runs in 11 matches to guide his side to a semi-final finish.

The following season saw him finish as the league’s leading run-scorer with 440 runs from 13 matches with Sylhet Royals. 

Having played more than 200 T20 matches, Rahim recorded his individual best score of 98* while playing for Khulna Tigers versus Comilla Warriors in BPL 2019-20, a season where he finished as the second-highest run-getter with 491 runs in 14 matches.

Throughout his stint in the BPL, the wicket-keeper batter has managed to keep an overall average of 30-plus, which is among the best in the league.

A quartet of the Bangla Tigers’ players, namely Mahmudullah, Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haque and Shakib Al Hasan also feature among the top run-scorers in the Bangladesh Premier League, with just a handful of runs separating the four renowned cricketers.


Photo credit: Alamy