Legendary India cricketer MS Dhoni holds the record for the most matches as captain in T20.

Dhoni has captained in 300 T20 matches during his illustrious career, registering 177 wins, suffering 118 defeats, playing out two ties while three matches ended with no result. He has a healthy win percentage of 59.93.

The Ranchi-born cricketer was appointed the captain to lead the Indian cricket team in the inaugural edition of ICC World T20 held in South Africa in 2007.

Dhoni made his T20 captaincy debut against Scotland in the 2007 ICC World T20 but the match had to be called off due to inclement weather.

Thereon, Dhoni helped the Men in Blue clinch the first-ever ICC World T20 title in South Africa, defeating arch-rivals Pakistan by five runs in a thrilling final.


Dhoni has captained India in 72 matches, securing 41 victories, losing 28 times, playing out one tie while two matches were abandoned. He also holds the joint record for most matches as captain in T20I (72) alongside England’s limited-over captain Eoin Morgan.

Apart from leading the Indian cricket team, Dhoni has captained Team Chennai and the now-defunct Team Pune in the Indian T20 League.

Under his leadership, Chennai have won the Indian T20 League title in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. Dhoni also led Chennai to the Champions League T20 titles in 2010 and 2014.

Former West Indies cricketer Daren Sammy features second on the list for most matches as captain in T20.

Sammy has captained in 208 matches in the T20 format, registering 104 wins and succumbing to 97 defeats. He recorded a win percentage of 51.72.

Sammy led West Indies to the ICC World T20 title in 2012 and 2016. He is the only captain to have won the World T20 title twice.

Apart from the West Indies cricket team, Sammy has led Team Hyderabad in the Indian Super League, Peshawar Zalmi in the Pakistan Super League, Rajshahi Kings in the Bangladesh Premier League, St Lucia, St Lucia Stars and St Lucia Zouks in the Caribbean Premier League.

India’s Virat Kohli is third on the list for most matches as captain in T20s. Kohli has led in 190 T20 matches with a win percentage of 52.44.

Between 2017 and 2021, Kohli also captained India in 50 matches in T20I, securing 30 victories with a win percentage of 64.58.

India cricketers Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma complete the top five list for most matches as captain in T20. 

While Gambhir has skippered 170 matches in T20 cricket, Sharma has led in 162 matches in the shortest format.

Under Gambhir’s captaincy, Kolkata won the Indian T20 League title twice in 2012 and 2014 while Rohit has led Mumbai to five Indian T20 League titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. The Nagpur-born cricketer has also captained India in 28 matches, securing 24 wins with an impressive win percentage of 85.71.

Most matches as captain in T20

Player Span Matches Won Lost Tied NR %
MS Dhoni 2007-2021 300 177 128 2 3 59.93
Daren Sammy 2006-2020 208 104 97 2 5 51.72
Virat Kohli 2011-2021 190 94 85 5 6 52.44
Gautam Gambhir 2009-2018 170 98 70 1 1 58.28
Rohit Sharma 2013-2022 162 103 55 4 0 64.81
Mahmudullah 2012-2022 155 73 79 1 2 48.03
Sarfaraz Ahmed 2013-2022 152 91 60 0 1 60.26
Kieron Pollard 2013-2022 147 70 66 2 9 51.44
Eoin Morgan 2012-2022 146 66 74 3 3 47.02
Aaron Finch 2012-2022 145 66 76 1 2 46.50

Featured photo: Aamir QURESHI / AFP