India’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar currently holds the record for bowling most maidens in T20I cricket.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar made his T20I debut against Pakistan in December 2012 and has gone on to bowl 10 maiden overs in the shortest format. He bowled the 10th maiden in a T20 World Cup match against Zimbabwe on November 6, 2022.

In 83 T20Is, Bhuvneshwar has struck 88 wickets while averaging 22.68 and boasting a stellar economy of 6.96. 

The Indian bowler is followed by his compatriot Jasprit Bumrah, who has egistered nine maiden overs in 60 matches. Bumrah has picked 70 wickets at an impressive economy and average of 6.62 and 20.22, respectively.

In his short international career, Bumrah has already established himself as India’s leading fast bowler. The Ahmedabad-born cricketer has gained prominence courtesy his unique bowling action and reputation for delivering toe-crushing yorkers.

Uganda's Franco Nsubuga is third with eight maiden overs. The left-arm off-spinner has a stellar economy of just 4.87 in 32 matches, at an average of 19.32.

German cricketer Ghulam Ahmadi is third on the list of most maidens in T20Is, bowling seven maidens in 23 matches for the European side. Meanwhile, Oman cricket team's left arm pacer Bilal Khan registered six maiden overs in 46 T20I matches and has claimed 63 T20I wickets at an economy of 6.41.

Former Sri Lanka pacer Nuwan Kulasekara, Bangladesh left-arm fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman and Canada’s Saad Bin Zafar have bowled six maiden overs in T20I cricket. 

While Kulasekara bagged 66 wickets in 58 T20I matches, Rahman has already scalped 94 wickets in 75 T20Is. Meanwhile, Zafar has accumulated 28 wickets in 22 T20Is so far.

India’s Harbhajan Singh, Pakistan’s Hasan Ali and former Ireland pacer Trent Johnston have all bowled five maiden overs in their T20I career.

Most maidens in T20I

Player Team Matches Maidens Wickets Average  Economy
Bhuvneshwar Kumar India 81 10 87 22.28 6.95
Jasprit Bumrah  India 60 9 70 20.22 6.62
Franco Nsubuga  Uganda 32 8 28 19.32 4.87
Ghulam Ahmadi  Germany 23 7 21 20.57 4.95
Bilal Khan  Oman 46 6 63 16.50 6.41
Nuwan Kulasekara  Sri Lanka 58 6 66 23.18 7.45
Mustafizur Rahman  Bangladesh 75 6 94 21.93 7.73
Saad Bin Zafar Canada 22 6 28 17.28 5.97
Mohammed Aslam Kuwait 23 5 27 16.62 5.98
Harbhajan Singh India 28 5 25 25.32 6.20

Featured photo: Adrian Dennis / AFP