Amit Mishra is the leading bowler with the most hat-tricks in Indian T20 League history.

The former Delhi spinner has registered three hat-tricks in his 14-year career that, at this point, seems done as he went unsold in the Indian T20 League 2022 mega auctions.

Amit Mishra claimed his first hat-trick against Team Deccan in the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 League, taking the wickets of Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha and RP Singh.

His next two hat-tricks in the tournament came in 2011 (vs Team Punjab) and 2013 (vs Team Pune).

Yuvraj Singh is second on the list for most hat-tricks in Indian T20 League. The all-rounder’s two hat-tricks are of major importance in the competition’s history as he is the only player to register two hat-tricks in a single campaign.

After his hat-trick against Bangalore on May 1, 2009, the former Indian all-rounder took just 16 days to grab his second career hat-trick against Team Deccan.

Lakshmipathy Balaji is the first player to ever take a hat-trick in the Indian T20 League. The former India pacer grabbed his maiden - and only - hat-trick off the final three deliveries of the meeting against Punjab in 2008 to lead Chennai to an 18-run victory.

Balaji’s pace partner Makhaya Ntini would be the first overseas player with a hat-trick in Indian T20 League history. The South African pacer initially dismissed Sourav Ganguly off the final ball of his third over and then plucked out Debabrata Das (27) and David Hussey (0) when he came to bowl the final over of his spell in the 16th over.

Yuzvendra Chahal is the latest bowler with a hat-trick in the Indian T20 League. The Rajasthan spinner dismissed Kolkata’s Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi and Pat Cummins in quick succession to help his side return to winning ways in the 2022 edition.

In all, there are 18 bowlers who have taken a hat-trick in the Indian T20 League.

Interestingly, Dwayne Bravo, who now boasts of most wickets in Indian T20 League history, has never taken a hat-trick in the tournament.

Most hat-tricks in Indian T20 League

Player No. of hat-tricks
Amit Mishra 3
Yuvraj Singh 2
Lakshmipathy Balaji 1
Makhaya Ntini 1
Yuzvendra Chahal 1

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / Sajjad Hussain