Netherlands' Bas de Leede holds the unwanted record for registering the most expensive spell in ODI cricket. The Dutch all-rounder unwittingly created this record in the 24th match of the 2023 World Cup in India.

Up against an Australian team that won the toss and decided to bat first at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, all the Dutch bowlers were on the receiving end of some punishment as David Warner and Glenn Maxwell, in particular, were in belligerent form and took the Netherlands' bowlers to the cleaners.

Among the Dutch bowlers, it was Bas de Leede who suffered the most as he finished 10-0-115-2 - which is the most expensive spell in ODI history. Australia went on to post 399/8 on the scoreboard en route to an easy win.

Former Australia cricketer Mick Lewis recorded the second-most expensive bowling spell in ODI cricket. 

During the fifth one-day international between hosts South Africa and Australia in  Johannesburg in 2006, fast bowler Mick Lewis gave away 113 runs in his quota of 10 overs without taking a single wicket. Mick Lewis’ figures of 10-0-113-0 is the second-most expensive bowling spell in ODI cricket history.

Electing to bat first, Australia rode on captain Ricky Ponting’s 164 off just 105 balls and Michael Hussey’s 51-ball 81 to post a mammoth score of 434/4 in their allotted 50 overs. In reply, Herschelle Gibbs smashed 175 off just 111 balls and captain Graeme Smith scored 55-ball 90 to help the hosts chase down the total in 49.5 overs.

Following his miserable bowling spell, Lewis was dropped from the Australian squad and his central contract was also not renewed.

Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz and Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan are third and fourth respectively on the list.

Wahab Riaz conceded 110 runs in his quota of 10 overs without picking a single wicket against England in an ODI in Nottingham in 2016. During the third ODI of Pakistan’s tour of England and Ireland, England rode on opener Alex Hales’ 171-run knock off just 122 balls, followed by Jos Buttler’s unbeaten 90 off 51 balls to post 444/3 in their 50 overs. In response, Pakistan were bowled out for 275 as the hosts secured a massive 169-run victory.

Meanwhile, Rashid Khan also gave away 110 runs in his nine overs against England in Manchester in 2019. Rashid also failed to scalp a single wicket in his most expensive spell in ODI cricket.

England posted 397/6 in their 50 overs courtesy of captain Eoin Morgan’s 71-ball 148 and Joe Root’s 88 off 82 balls. In reply, Afghanistan could only manage to score 247/8 in their allotted 50 overs. England won the match by 150 runs.

Netherland leg-spinner Philippe Boissevain is fifth on the list of most expensive bowling spells in ODI cricket. 

Boissevain recorded figures of 10-0-108-0 against England in the first ODI of their three-match series in Amstelveen.

Phil Salt (122), Dawid Malan (125), wicket-keeper batter Jos Buttler’s unbeaten 70-ball 162 and Liam Livingstone’s 66 not out off just 22 balls powered England to 498/4 in their 50 overs, recording the highest total in ODI cricket history. In reply, the Netherlands were bowled out for 266 as the visitors secured a massive 232-run victory.

Meanwhile, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only Indian to feature in this list of most expensive spells in ODIs.

During the fifth ODI of South Africa’s tour of India, Bhuvneshwar conceded 106 runs in his quota of 10 overs. He, however, dismissed South Africa captain Ab de Villers in the match.

South Africa rode on centuries from Quinton de Kock (109), Faf du Plessis (133) and Ab de Villers (119) to post a mammoth score of 438/4 in their 50 overs. India were bundled out for just 224 as the visitors won the series 3-2. It was South Africa's first-ever bilateral series win in India.

Most expensive bowling spells in ODI cricket

Player Overs Runs Wickets Team Opposition Ground Year
Bas de Leede 10 115 2 Netherlands Australia Delhi 2023
Mick Lewis 10 113 0 Australia South Africa Johannesburg 2006
Wahab Riaz 10 110 0 Pakistan England Nottingham 2016
Rashid Khan 9 110 0 Afghanistan England Manchester 2019
Philippe Boissevain 10 108 0 Netherlands England Amstelveen 2022
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10 106 1 India South Africa Wankhede 2015
Nuwan Pradeep 10 106 0 Sri Lanka India Mohali 2017
Martin Snedden 12 105 2 New Zealand England The Oval 1983
Tim Southee 10 105 0 New Zealand India Christchurch 2009
Brian Vitori 9 105 1 Zimbabwe New Zealand Napier 2012
Jason Holder 10 104 1 West Indies South Africa Sydney 2015

Featured photo: Alamy