India cricketer Deepak Hooda set a new world record for the most consecutive wins since international debut in men’s cricket.

Deepak Hooda has now won 17 successive matches across formats since he made his international debut during a One Day International (ODI) against West Indies in 2022. 

Interestingly, the Indian cricket team has never lost a match in which Hooda has been part of the playing XI across formats. 

Since Hooda’s international debut, the Men in Blue have won all the eight ODIs and nine T20Is that the swashbuckling batter has played so far.

The Haryana-born cricketer achieved the incredible milestone during India’s commanding five-wicket win over hosts Zimbabwe at the Harare Sports Club to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match ODI series. 

Hooda further extended his impressive record to 17-0 after India beat Zimbabwe by 13 runs in the third and final ODI to record a clean sweep.

The Indian middle-order batter surpassed the previous record held by Romania’s Satvik Nadigotla, who registered 15 consecutive victories since his international debut in men’s cricket. Nadigotla made his international debut in a T20I encounter against Turkey in 2019.

South Africa’s David Miller and Shantanu Vashisht of Romania share the third spot for the most consecutive wins across formats after their international debut in men’s cricket.

Miller and Vashisht won 13 matches on the trot after their international debuts. While the Proteas batter made his international debut during a T20I match against West Indies in 2010, Vashisht played his first international cricket match against Austria in a T20I clash in 2019.

Former West Indies cricketer Collis King completes the top five list. The Barbados-born all-rounder was a part of 12 successive wins across formats after his international debut against England in a Test match in 1976.

Most consecutive wins since international debut in men's cricket

Player Team  Wins
Deepak Hooda India 17*
Satvik Nadigotla Romania 15
David Miller South Africa 13
Shantanu Vashisht Romania 13
Collis King West Indies 12

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: Punit PARANJPE / AFP