Pakistan domestic team Sialkot Stallions holds the record for most consecutive wins in T20 cricket.

Between February 2006 and October 2010, Stallions scripted history as they won every match in the domestic T20 tournaments during the 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10 seasons. 

Under captain Imran Nazir (2006-2009) and later under skipper Shoaib Malik, Stallions won five consecutive National T20 Cups and went on a 25-match unbeaten streak during that time period. 

However, that historic winning run came to an end in October 2010, when a Shoaib Malik-led Sialkot team suffered a 13-run defeat to Rawalpindi Rams while chasing 198 in a Group B encounter.

Apart from Sialkot Stallions, no other T20 side has ever won more than 15 matches on the trot.

Interestingly, the Indian domestic side Karnataka won 15 consecutive matches in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy - which is the most by any Indian T20 team and second overall in the history of cricket’s shortest format.

Led by Manish Pandey, an unbeaten Karnataka side lifted the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018-19 as they went on a 15-match unbeaten streak. Their dream run ended after they lost to Baroda by 14 runs in the 2019-20 edition of the T20 competition.

In the Indian T20 League, the Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata Team won 14 matches on the trot during May 2014 and October 2014. 

After making a horrible start to their Indian T20 League campaign in 2014, Kolkata discovered their mojo in the UAE as they went on a nine-match unbeaten streak and claimed their second title. 

Their dominance continued in the Champions League before MS Dhoni’s Chennai ended Kolkata’s 14-match unbeaten run in the Champions League T20 final in Bengaluru.

Most consecutive wins in T20 cricket

Teams Matches From To
Sialkot Stallions 25 24 February 2006 14 October 2010
Karnataka  15 24 January 2018 8 November 2019
Otago 14 14 December 2012 25 September 2013
Kolkata 14 7 May 2014 2 October 2014
Surrey 13 13 June 2003 7 August 2004
Bengal 12 24 October 2009 24 October 2011
Sixers 12 8 January 2012 8 December 2012
Trinbago 12 18 August 2020 10 September 2020

Amongst international teams, the Afghanistan cricket team jointly holds the record for most consecutive wins in T20I cricket along with India and Romania. Between February 2018 to September 2019, Afghanistan went on a 12-match unbeaten streak. Six of their 12 wins came at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Dehradun, their adopted home ground in India. Afghanistan also went on an 11-match unbeaten streak in T20Is between March 2016 to March 2017. 

The Indian cricket team saw their 12-match unbeaten streak come to an end with a seven-wicket loss to South Africa in June 2022. Team India started their winning run against Afghanistan in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 and went on to whitewash New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka in the T20I series at home.

Meanwhile, Pakistan managed to win nine matches in succession between July 2018 to November 2018. 

Amongst associate nations, Romania hold the unbeaten record of winning 12 matches in succession. The Romanian cricket team started their winning run against Bulgaria in October 2020 and since then are yet to lose a match. 

Most consecutive wins in T20I cricket

Teams Matches From To 
Afghanistan 12 5 February 2018 15 September 2019
India 12 3 November 2021 9 June 2022
Romania 12* 17 October 2020 Ongoing
Afghanistan 11 27 March 2016 12 March 2017
Uganda 11 13 September 2021 22 October 2021
Pakistan 9 4 July 2018 4 November 2018

Featured photo: Alexander Joe / AFP