Rohit Sharma has the most consecutive wins by a T20 International captain, with India’s 49-run victory against England at Southampton his 14th successive win as skipper since 2021.

The Rose Bowl fixture in Southampton (1st T20I) marked Rohit’s maiden T20I outing for the Indian cricket team since the T20I series against Sri Lanka in February.

Rohit Sharma opted to bat first in the first T20I, and luckily, the decision worked wonders as Hardik Pandya’s all-round performance with the bat and ball (51 runs and four wickets) inspired India to their 11th victory against England in 20-overs cricket.

Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten in 14 matches since November 2019, when India took on Bangladesh in the second T20I at Rajkot. In that fixture, Rohit led from the front with a 43-ball 85 to help the hosts chase 154 in 15.4 overs.

Since he first captained India in T20 international cricket in 2017, Rohit Sharma has a record of 25 wins and four defeats in 29 matches.

Rohit’s 13th consecutive win as a T20I captain saw him go past Afghanistan’s Asghar Afghan and Romania’s Ramesh Satheesan, who registered 12 successive wins each.

Asghar, for starters, engineered Afghanistan’s rise as a dark horse in T20 cricket since taking over as skipper in 2015. He first oversaw 11 successive wins from March 2016 and March 2017, which included whitewash results in bilateral series against UAE and Ireland.

The former Afghanistan captain would improve his own record as he went 12 games without defeat between February 2018 and March 2020. Asghar Afghan, interestingly, lost only three games as a T20I captain between March 27, 2016, until his last fixture as Afghanistan skipper on March 20, 2021.

Asghar Afghan’s captainship saw Afghanistan register a total of 42 victories and nine defeats in 52 matches.

Romania’s Ramesh Satheesan matched Asghar Afghan’s record of most consecutive wins by a T20I captain with a 33-run victory over Luxembourg in 2021. The 40-year-old has been Romania’s skipper since they were granted full Twenty20 International (T20I) status in 2018 and played their first game against Austria in 2019.

Satheesan’s captaincy record in T20Is reads as 19 wins and four losses in 23 games. His run of most consecutive wins as T20I captain spanned between October 17, 2020, and September 5, 2021.

Charles Perchard of Jersey and Uganda's Deusdedit Muhumuza complete the top five list for most consecutive wins by a T20I captain. The duo have registered 10 victories during their respective captaincy roles.

While Perchard continues to be Jersey's skipper in 20-overs cricket since 2019, Muhumuza had a brief spell as Uganda T20I captain in 2021.

Deusdedit Muhumuza won each of his 10 games as captain and currently is vice-captain to Brian Masaba.

Most consecutive wins by a T20I captain

Captain Team Consecutive wins Period

Rohit Sharma




Ramesh Satheesan




Asghar Afghan






Charles Perchard




Deusdedit Muhumuza




Author: William Paul