The Indian cricket team holds the record for most consecutive Test series wins at home. The Indians have won 17 consecutive Test series on home soil from February 2013 till present. 

India’s last home Test series loss came during England’s tour of India in 2012-13 where MS Dhoni and Co. lost 1-2. 

From October 2016 to May 2020, India achieved its longest streak - 42 months - as the World no.1 Test team. During the same period in 2018, India beat West Indies by an innings and 272 runs at Rajkot to record their highest margin of victory in Test cricket. 

Australia achieved the unique feat of registering 10 successive series wins at home twice, first between November 1994 to November 2000 and later from July 2004 to November 2008. The Australians, in fact, recorded 16 consecutive Test match wins overall between 1999 to 2001 first and then between 2005 to 2008.  

Between March 1976 and February 1986, West Indies won eight consecutive home Test series. The period between 1982 to 1984 saw West Indies win 27 Tests in a row under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd, which is the record for the longest winning run by any team in Test cricket history. A little more than a decade later, they again went on a seven Test series-winning spree at home between 1998 to 2001. 

South Africa under the captaincy of Graeme Smith won seven Test series at home between May 2009 to 2012. On August 28 2012, South Africa became the first team to top the ICC men’s team rankings in all three formats of the game.  

The Proteas’ winning run at home eventually came to an end when Michael Clarke’s Australian team beat them 1-2 during the Aussies’ 2013-14 tour to the rainbow nation. 

Most consecutive Test series wins at home: Know the record-holders


Consecutive series wins at home





February 2013




November 1994

November 2000



July 2004

November 2008

West Indies 


March 1976

February 1986

West Indies


March 1998

November 2001

South Africa 


May 2009

May 2012

Author: Kaustubh Potdar

Featured photo: Punit Paranjpe / AFP