The record for most bilateral ODI series wins is held by the Indian cricket team, with 73 series victories.

Since being awarded their One Day International status in 1974, the Men in Blue have played 126 bilateral ODI series (two or more games), of which 59 have been on home soil.

After defeats to England (1974), New Zealand (1976 and 1981) and Pakistan (1978), a Sunil Gavaskar-led India scripted history by winning their maiden bilateral ODI series against England in 1981/82.

From the 73 series wins, India won nine successive ODI series between June 2016 and December 2017. This run bettered their previous best of six series wins between November 2007 and November 2010.

India holds the record for most consecutive bilateral ODI series wins against an opponent (12).

The Pakistan cricket team are second on this list with 68 bilateral ODI series wins. The Shaheens recorded an ODI series victory in their first bilateral assignment against England in 1974.

The travelling Pakistani side, captained by ​​Intikhab Alam, picked up seven and eight-wicket victories to seal a 2-0 whitewash result against the Three Lions.

The next best team with the most bilateral ODI series wins is the England cricket team. The English, credited as the pioneers of the sport, played the first-ever ODI and the first bilateral ODI series against Australia.

Brian Close skippered the Three Lions side that would script a 2-1 series win at Birmingham, and there onwards, England would go on to win 66 bilateral ODI series. 

South Africa comes in fourth for most bilateral ODI series wins with 61 series victories. The Proteas, currently fifth on the ICC ODI Team rankings, played their bilateral series against India in 1991/92 and scripted a 3-0 success away from home.

It was a significant result for South Africa after they made an official return to action as they were suspended from the sport due to the apartheid policy.

Australia and New Zealand complete the top five list for most bilateral ODI series wins, as the fierce rivals have won 54 ODI series each.

Most bilateral ODI series wins (minimum two-match series)


Series wins







South Africa


Australia, New Zealand


Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / RANDY BROOKS